In Honor of the 2006-2007 TV Season

I’m taking this opportunity to finally launch the TV blog I’ve been talking about. I have long been recongized as a purveyor of great TV, someone who knows what shows are worth watching and can always recommend something appropriate to anyone’s taste. I plan to use this platform to talk about the shows I watch and give each one worth watching a thumbs up and each that isn’t a big thumbs down.

I plan to soon publish my planned viewing list for the upcoming season but until then let me tell you the kinds of shows I like and don’t like so you have a sense of what I’ll be writing about.

First, I love serialized dramas.  Great serials are the reason that for me movies will never be able to compete with television.  How could any character I spend 2 hours with possibly compete with one I follow for 20-40-100 hours?   Characters in these stories are continuously evolving and the best have a narrative that always builds on what happened before.

As a flip side to loving serialized dramas, I generally hate procedurals.  Limited character development and stories that are virtually interchangable one with another make these shows boring to me.

I love the new generation of one camera comedies and avoid most laugh track sitcoms like the plague.

For me reality is a mixed bag, I like some and detest others.

What I look for is a show that I can watch years later and still remember and enjoy.

Let’s find the next one together.

2 Responses to In Honor of the 2006-2007 TV Season

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. jim says:

    “I have long been recongized as a purveyor of great TV…”

    Amen.

Leave a Reply

