Fall Season 2006-2007- Monday

Here’s my network by network breakdown:

CBS

8:00 – 8:30 – The Class – I saw the first episode and was completely underwhelmed.  I understand it’s been reworked so I’ll give it a try.  There is something here to like particularly Jason Ritter.  The other characters ranged from mildly annoying to flat out I hate them.  It’s trying way too hard to be Friends and it just isn’t.  My guess is this show won’t be on my list for too much longer even though with CBS’s track record for generally mild and crappy sitcoms it will have a long life on the network.

8:30 – 9:00 – How I Met Your Mother – This is the exception to my comment on CBS and sitcoms.  This show is the new Friends.  Every character is great and I wouldn’t replace any of them.  I loved the first season and look forward to the second season.

ABC

10:00 – 11:00 –  What About Brian – I liked parts of the first season but erased the last couple of episodes before watching once I was convinced it wouldn’t be renewed.  I’m going to give it a try again for at least 3 episodes and then I’ll make the call.

Fox

8:00 – 9:00 Prison Break – As I said in my earlier posting on the show, this one is on shaky ground with me.  After a good first season which was generally exciting I just find this second season to be boring.  It’s got until it goes on baseball hiatus to win me back.

9:00 – 10:00 Vanished – 4 episodes in, it isn’t the worst show I’ve ever seen and I’ve been mildly entertained.  I don’t like the lead FBI investigator and the writing is horrible but the story is keeping me engaged.  It’s also got until baseball to get me hooked.

NBC

9:00 – 10:00 Heroes – I’m a huge comic fan, a big serial drama fan and this one looks like it hits both my buttons.  I’ve read mixed reviews but this is one that will really have to suck to get me to not watch.

10:00 – 11:00  Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip – I agree with the critics, this is my #1 pick of the new season.  I saw the pilot and loved it.  Aaron Sorkin is a TV god.  Sports Night and West Wing are 2 of my all time favourite shows.  This has a great cast and I only hope the next episodes are as great as the pilot.

CW

9:00 – 10:00 Runaway – The early reviews on this have been pretty lousy.  I’m going to give Donnie Wahlberg the benefit fo the doubt.  Boomtown bought him a lot of credit in my books.  I’ll watch it a few times and then decide.

Here’s my Monday TV viewing schedule:

8:00 – 9:00 Prison Break

9:00 – 10:00 Heroes

10:00 – 11:00 Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip

11:00 – 11:30 How I Met Your Mother

Everything else will be recorded and watched later.

Leave a Reply

