Fall Season 2006-2007- Sunday

Here are the shows I will be watching by network on Sunday nights this fall:

The CW

7:00 – 7:30 – Everybody Hates Chris – I really like this show but I’m only 1/2 way through the first season. I’m putting it on the list as something worth watching but personally I will be recording them all and watching next summer.

ABC

9:00 – 10:00 – Desperate Housewives – This show is on probation with me. I never got caught up with the hype the first season. I liked that it was different and I liked the cast but it was a bit over the top for me. I agree with everyone who thought season 2 was horrible. Besides the boring mystery of the Applewhites, the best moments of season 1 were when the 4 women got together and these were few and far between in season 2. Season 2 is way too early to feel like you’re watching something out of habit. I’m in but it’s on notice.

10:00 – 11:00 – Brothers & Sisters – Great cast generally. I’m not a Calista Flockhart fan, though. I have a feeling that this show may have a longer season with me than Desparate Housewives especially with Greg Berlanti coming on board. Everwood is one of my favourite shows of all time afterall.

CBS

8:00 – 9:00 – The Amazing Race – I like Amazing Race. Of all the reality shows, it’s the only one I could see myself ever doing. I love all the places they go and generally like the constestants they find. The problem for me is that the formula is getting stale. I really had trouble not dozing off last year by the mid-point. I’m going to watch this year because I do like the show but if I fall asleep 3 times before the end, it’s off the list.

10:00 – 11:00 – Without a Trace – Outside of 2 of the Law and Orders this is the only procedural I watch. It really strikes the right balance between the characters (all of whom are excellent) and the stories (most of which are genuniely suspenseful).

Fox

8:00 – 8:30 The Simpsons – Like everyone else, I agree that this show does not compare to its early seasons when every episode was brilliant.  However, the thing about The Simpsons for me is that episodes tend to evolve into classics.  I remember certain episodes a few years ago that I didn’t really like when I first saw them.  But somehow when I see them in reruns they actually get funnier.  I just have to get that first viewing out of the way.

HBO/ TMN

10:00 – 11:00 – The Wire – What is there to say about one of the great shows ever on the air.  I remember watching the first episode and finding it too slow.  I almost dropped it right there but I’m a die hard Homicide fan so David Simon earned another couple of episodes.  It’s still slow sometimes but I say that as a good thing.  It’s like all the critics say.  A great novel that needs to be savoured.  If you haven’t started watching go rent the first 3 seasons and come back to this one.  You won’t be sorry.

This is generally too much TV for one night so I’m going to conclude each entry with how I think I will watch my Sunday night given time shifting.

8:00 – 9:00 The Amazing Race

9:00 – 10:00 Brothers and Sisters or Desperate Housewives (whichever turns out better)
10:00 – 11:00 The Wire

11:00 – 11:30 – The Simpsons

Everything else will be recorded and watched later in the week.

Leave a Reply

