Fall Season 2006-2007- Tuesday

Here’s my network by network breakdown:

ABC

8:00 – 8:30 – Big Day – I like the idea of following the planning of a wedding in full 24 mode.  It could be lots of fun.

9:00 – 9:30 – The Knights of Prosperity – It looks a fun show in the vein of My Name is Earl and despite a lousy title I like the premise of misfits trying to rob Mick Jagger.  I just hope it can grow beyond the premise or it’s going to be a short run.

10:00 – 11:00 – Boston Leagal – The show is still on my list.  There are things I like about it but it’s way too over the top with its storylines and this season doesn’t look to be that different.  I’m giving it 6 episodes to win me back and then it’s gone.

CBS

10:00 – 11:00 Smith – I’m excited about this one.  I like heist movies and shows.  I like the idea that the characters live double lives.  I like the cast with Ray Liotta, Virginia Madsen (who I’ve liked since Crime Story years ago) and Shohreh Aghadashloo (who was great on 24).  The only thing that worries me is that it’s on CBS which means it either will be way too much of a procedural (heist of the week) and I’ll be bored within 4 weeks or that it will be quickly cancelled.  We’ll see in a few weeks which way it goes.

NBC

8:00 – 9:00 – Friday Night Lights – I’m a fan of the family drama.  Everwood, Party of Five and the one I hear this show most frequently being compared to, American Dreams.  I never saw the movie but if this show is my Everwood/ American Dreams replacement show, I can’t wait.

10:00 – 11:00 – Law and Order:SVU – The best of the Law and Order shows and a great show in its own right.  Every story and characters are compelling and interesting on a level that no other Law and Order or procedural (with the exception of maybe Without a Trace) has been able to meet.

Fox

Nothing.  I don’t watch House and Standoff isn’t my kind of show.

CW

8:00 – 9:00 Gilmore Girls – Last season was terrible.  An illigitimate child for Luke.  The finale with Lorelai sleeping with Christopher.  Even worse, the characters were not fun to visit every week. Everyone made a big deal about the creators leaving the show and how bad it is that a dispute over money led them to walk away from the show they created.  I think this may be great for the show.  Maybe new blood will make the show go back to the hearts of the characters that were made great.

9:00 – 10:00 Veronica Mars – Perhaps my favourite show of the last couple of years.  My DVDs of the series that I recorded as the show aired were so worn out from me passing them on to friends and family so that they would see the greatness of this program, I actually bought the store released ones last week just so I’d have good copies for future viewing.  If you haven’t been watching start now.  You won’t be sorry.

Here’s my viewing schedule for Tuesday.

8:00 – 9:00 Friday Night Lights

9:00 – 10:00 Veronica Mars

10:00 – 11:00 Law & Order: SVU or Smith (depends on my wife)
11:00- 12:00 Gilmore Girls

Everything else will be recorded and watched later.

5 Responses to Fall Season 2006-2007- Tuesday

  1. cara shuckett says:

    I have been lucky enough to be on the receiving end of the borrowed Veronica Mars dvd. If you haven’t seen it-get it. I can’t wait for the new season, and now my interest is peaked for Friday Night Lights…

  2. sourlime says:

    Did you know that you can stream the first episode of VM Season Three via msn? I can’t find a decent permanent looking link to the msn page, other than http://tv.msn.com/tv/tvbuzz and it appears that doing it that way requires you to install ie 6 (plus flash, and the MMP). You still need the Microsoft Media Player to watch it via this link, but it’s much easier: http://a1986.v87251.c8725.g.vc.akamaistream.net/7/1986/8725/v0001/msnent.download.akamai.com/8725/DBA90618/published/Video/Misc/High/VeronicaMars_WelcomeWagon.wmv

    What I watched was a full episode, with no commercials. Quality isn’t great, as expected with streaming media, but definitely watchable if you’d rather not wait until October 3rd when you get a good quality video.

    Also, as long as I’m posting, you might be interested in the online schedule available at http://www.pogdesign.co.uk/cat/ – I much prefer it to zap2it or tvguide because I really only care about knowing when a new episode is airing, rather than everything that’s on tv that night. Plus, you can filter it to exactly only the shows you watch and like, which cuts down on the clutter.

  3. sourlime says:

    (p.s. – I’m totally annoyed by WP’s lack of information that comments are screened – I don’t care that they are, I just don’t understand why it doesn’t tell you it’s screened and that’s why it’s not showing up anywhere, including in your own comment tracker. Weird.)

    Anyhow, this one’s just to let you know that sourlime=Abby.

  4. sourlime says:

    Okay, maybe it just filtered out my old one? I mostly just gave you a couple of links, letting you know that you can watch a streaming video version of the upcoming S3 premiere of VM on MSN. The link is http://tv.msn.com/tv/tvbuzz but I also have a direct link to the .wmv file (maybe that super long url is why it thinks I’m spam?)

    I also pointed you to my favourite site for keeping track of new episodes of my favourite shows. It looks cluttered on first viewing, but you can filter it out to only the shows you like, and then instead of having to stumble through 6 hoursX300 channels to see what’s on, you just get a listing of which of your shows will have new episodes that night. Prime time tv only. http://www.pogdesign.co.uk/cat/

  5. avster says:

    Sorry Abby. I don’t know what happened. Your messages got marked as spam but they’re now approved. Can’t wait to see VM also.

Leave a Reply

