Fall Season 2006-2007- Thursday

Here is my network by network picks for Thursday:

ABC

8:00 – 9:00 Ugly Betty – This one could go either way for me. I think the general concept of an ugly duckling working in the world of fashion is an interesting one and the reviews seem to be uniformly great. I’m just not sure if there is enough for this to work for me every week. I’m willing to give it a try though.

9:00 – 10:00 Grey’s Anatomy – This is the show I truly disliked in its first season. I come firmly in the “I hate Meridith” side of the debate. Between her constant whining and the truly pretentious voiceover I find very little to like in her and this turned me off the first season. Somewhere in the middle of the second season (a few episodes prior to the Super Bowl episode) I sat and watched with my wife and something changed. I still hated Meridith but there was enough that I liked in the rest of the cast that I could ignore her. I have become a convert and this show is now firmly on my list for this season.

10:00 – 11:00 – Six Degrees – I don’t know what to make of this show yet. Reviews are mixed but the concept is cool. I am a firm believer in the idea that most people (at least within a particular city) are within six degrees of each other, and that it’s just a matter of finding out the connections. I’m a huge JJ Abrams fan and even if his role on the show may be limited his blessing is sufficient to get me to try it.

CBS

8:00 – 9:00 Survivor – I kind of don’t care about the controversy over this season’s teams split by race. To me it’s really not that different than splitting by gender or old vs. young. This is a reality show, not a statement on race in America. If you think reality TV = reality then you need to give yourself a shake. I’m more concerned that I’ve been finding the show boring the last couple of years. I enjoy the interactions between the teams and the show has turned into 40 minutes of competitions and 10 minutes of human dynamics. If this doesn’t change in the first few episodes, I’m going to vote myself off this island.

10:00 – 11:00 – Shark – I like James Woods but I think I need to watch another lawyer show like I need a hole in the head. I’ll watch it a couple of times but my guess is that, like Justice, the premise will wear thin quick and that this will be off my list by end of October.

NBC

8:00 – 8:30 – My Name is Earl – I love this show. It’s made NBC the Must See TV it was for me years ago. It’s the second best show of the night.

8:30 – 9:00 – The Office – Which brings me to my favourite show of the night. No show on any network makes me as consistently laugh and tug my heart strings even on repeat viewings. Every episode last season was a winner and the season finale with Jim and Pam (the best star crossed lovers on any show) was my favourite cliffhanger. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

10:00 – 11:00 ER – I admit that I watch this show more out of habit than desire to see what happens next but watch I still do. Depending on how the rest of the shows on this list shape up, this may be the year I drop it. Of course, I say that every year.

Fox

9:00 – 10:00 The OC – Speaking of shows I watch out of habit. Last season was horrible. Every one grated on me. So why am I still going to watch. Two words. Bright Abbott. My favourite character on Everwood is going to be on the OC and I want to support him. The show has until his arc runs out to keep me interested.

CW

8:00 – 9:00 – Smallville – This show is a little uneven for me. I like the mythology episodes and hate all the others. I still watch but I usually let the episodes build up on my PVR rather than watch in real time.

Here’s my schedule for what I’m really going to watch on Thursday:

8:00 – 9:00 – Survivor

9:00 – 10:00 – Grey’s Anatomy

10:00 – 10:30 – My Name is Earl

10:30 – 11:00 – The Office

Everything else will be recorded to watch at a later date.

 

3 Responses to Fall Season 2006-2007- Thursday

  1. Yoni says:

    I’ve dropped Survivor from my lineup.

    The thing is the contest are not even remotely entertaining. Jeff explains everything for 5 minutes and then every one runs around like idiots. Whereas in shows like Big Brother, at least the competitions are often entertaining when the opportunity to screw all of your other housemates to further your own goals.

    I’m tempted to try Ugly Betty.

  2. avster says:

    Have you watched The Office yet, Yoni. Best show on TV as far as I’m concerned.

  3. Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

