Giving Credit Where Credit is Due – Renewal and Cancellation News

The TV Gods are listening to people who like TV based on some of the recent announcements on renewals and cancellations.

HBO has cancelled Lucky Louie.  This was by far the worst show I watched all summer (yes, that includes Big Brother).  I guess they can’t all be winners for HBO and if this would have been renewed I might have questioned their generally strong commitment to producing great TV.

At the same time HBO has renewed the show critics have been calling the best on TV – The Wire.  I’m glad that David Simon is going to get to complete the 5 season story he wants to tell.  No one deserves it more.

Showtime has also renewed Brotherhood.  I’m a few episodes behind but I have liked this show.  The tale of 2 brothers, one a politician, the other a criminal is as compelling as the actors who play them.  Bravo to Showtime for keeping this alive.  I hope they do the same with Sleeper Cell, another of my Showtime favourites.

USA renewed the 4400 for a fourth season.  If you haven’t seen this show and you like a good sci-fi show with conspiracies and fun characters, rent the first 2 seasons and catch the third if it reruns on USA.

2 Responses to Giving Credit Where Credit is Due – Renewal and Cancellation News

  1. Yoni says:

    How can you say Big Brother was a bad show!

    Will’s the most entertaining character in the history of reality show television and the second I need botox, I know where I’m going!

  2. jim says:

    I’m proud to say that I’m still 95% reality-TV-free — it’s been a difficult genre to avoid, and I’m proud of that accomplishment.

    Lucky Louie was strange, I found myself watching it even though it was painful. But then, I find Curb your Enthusiasm similarly painful.

    Nice to hear about The Wire, but I’m 3 seasons behind. So sad.

Leave a Reply

