Capsule Reviews – Sunday September 24th

Desperate Housewives – Season 3, Episode 1

Much ado was made by critics and viewers last season about how the show had crashed in its second season from the “brilliance” (their word not mine) of the first season.  I partially agree.  I thought the first season was decent and the second season was generally awful.  So, I watched the first episode of this new season to see which way the wind was going to blow because I do like the cast.  Verdict is that the show is much closer to the good first season than it was to last season.  The ladies actually got in the same room together to discuss Bree’s upcoming marriage to Agent Cooper.  I liked Gabrielle’s story – for me she was the best this episode.  Susan was about a bit less annoying as she watched over Mike and bonded over comas with the man who passed on the role of Wolverine in the X movies to do Mission Impossible 2 (“I said ha, ha”).  Unfortunately my favourite on the show, Felicity Huffman, is stuck in a storyline about Tom’s love child that is far below her considerable talents.  I’m still watching but it’s not at the top of my list.

Avi’s Episode Grade: B

Brothers and Sisters – Season 1, Episode 1

I’m going to be brief on this one.  Great cast.  I don’t remember their character names so I’m going to call them what I know them as.  I like Brenda, Sloan, Sally Field, Tom Skerrit (RIP), Vaughn-lite, cancelled Reunion guy and Thirtysomething woman.  I can even put up with Ally McBeal (although to me she is the weakest link in this show).  The problem with the first episode is it seemed to jam way too much in and most of it was kind of boring.  Why am I sticking with this show you ask?  Two words – Greg Berlanti – who ran Everwood, one of the great family dramas and one of my favourite shows ever and has now taken over this one.  He’s even bringing Treat Williams in.  I hope that his fingerprint makes this one a winner.

Avi’s episode grade: B

One Response to Capsule Reviews – Sunday September 24th

Leave a Reply

