Capsule Reviews – Thursday Sept. 28

Survivor: Cook Islands – Episode 3

For a great take on this episode read Alan Sepinwall’s review where he suggests that the season should have worked in reverse, they should have mixed the teams first and then split them by race.  Instead the “social experiment” turned out to be much a do about nothing.  I am, however, liking the renewed focus on the social dynamics of the game over the challenges.

Avi’s episode grade: B+

Ugly Betty – Episode 1

I still haven’t watched this but my wife wanted me to take back her endorsement of this show.  She woke up the next morning and told me that after thinking about the show, she didn’t enjoy it afterall.

Nicole’s episode grade: C

Shark – Season 1, Episode 2

Let’s see how close I was in predicting the pattern of this show last week:

  • I’m the greatest prosecutor ever. I eat defense lawyers and even lawyers on my own team for breakfast.  – Check and check
  • My daughter hates me.  – Check
  • I might lose this case so I’m going to wallow. – Sort of, I got the “might lose” part right but not the wallowing
  • Watch me pull some new evidence out of my ass and win. – Check
  • I’m the greatest prosecutor ever. I eat defense lawyers and even lawyers on my own team for breakfast.  – Check
  • My daughter kinda likes me.  – Check
  • The End – Check
  • Final verdict: The show wasn’t horrible despite the formula (always great to see one of my favourite character actors Zeljko Ivanek) but I’m overloaded with TV so this one’s gone.

    Avi’s Episode Review – B-

    Leave a Reply

