Capsule Reviews

Kidnapped – Season 1, Episodes 1 & 2

I finally got around to watching the first 2 episodes of this new series and I loved it.  It looked like a big budget movie and had twists, turns and cliffhangers like the best serials.  Jeremy Sisto is great as the maverick ex-FBI agent who hunts down kidnapped children and has his own traumatic kidnapping experience in his past.   Delroy Lindo brings a new level of coolness to his FBI agent who has an uneasy working relationship with his former mentee, Sisto.  Timothy Hutton and Dana Delany haven’t had much to do yet but I feel their pain as the rich parents of the kidnapped boy.  Besides a great cast, the case is compelling.  After a first episode set-up, the second episode ramped up the action with an attempted kidnapping of the family’s older daughter as well.  It puts Vanished, the other kidnapping show this season, to shame.

What makes me sad is this article where the NBC CEO expressed disappointment with the show’s performance.   I’m worried about whether this show will make it to the end of the season, and hopefully the end of the kidnapping.  If the show doesn’t make it, it will be our loss.

Avi’s episodes rating: A-

How I Met Your Mother – Season 2, Episodes 2 & 3

I’ve liked this show since the beginning but this season I love it.  Next to The Office it is my favourite comedy on the air.  (Yes, that includes My Name is Earl).  The breakup of Marshall and Lilly has been heartbreaking and realistic mostly as a result of their amazing portrayal by Jason Segal and Alison Hannigan.  Last night’s episode with Ted’s parents who got divorced and didn’t tell anyone was an excellent vehicle to explain why in the end Ted doesn’t marry Robin but are able to remain friends.  Josh Radnor’s knowing look at the end of the episode really said it all.

The amazing thing about this show is the way it’s able to balance the melodrama with comedy.  This is the role of Neil Patrick Harris’s career.  He brings an energy to every scene he is in and defines the term scene stealer.  Most important his jokes (and everyone else’s) are laugh out loud funny.  If you haven’t watched this show before, start now.  You won’t be disappointed.

Avi’s Episodes Rating:  A

Prison Break – Season 2, Episodes 6 & 7

I admit that for me this show had been steadily losing its appeal.  I have been asked a number of times recently whether Season 1 was worth purchasing on DVD.  Before Season 2 aired my answer was a definitive yes.  Since then I have reversed my opinion based on the lackluster and, to be frank, really boring season.   A few weeks ago I said I’d wait until the baseball break and then decide.  Basically, I was about 2 episodes away from dropping it from my rotation.  Well, I’ve now seen those 2 episodes and I’m still in.

The last 2 weeks were actually fun to watch.  I think it’s clear what was missing – the interaction between the cons.  The way that they played off each other in season 1 made the show as interesting as the conspiracy and escape plot did.  With the crew back together and the conspiracy plot moving forward, the show was finally back on track.  The one-two punch of last night’s ending with Mahone killing Tweener (is he really part of the overall conspiracy) and Sucre trying to run off with DB Cooper’s money has me looking forward to the show’s return 3 weeks from now.

Avi’s season to date rating: C+

Avi’s Episodes rating for the past 2 weeks – B+

Leave a Reply

