Lost – Season 3, Episode 1

Like many I thought season 2 of Lost had some problems. It had way too many characters to juggle and often the backstories didn’t seem to have enough to do with the overarching story. My biggest problem rested with ABC’s scheduling of the show. 1 week on, 2 weeks off, 1 week on, 3 weeks off. This show relies on momentum and any momentum the show had was lost with the constant reruns (pun intended). Over the final few episodes of the season starting with the jaw dropping, unexpected finale of Michael shooting Ana Lucia and Libby the show regained a lot of the goodwill the show had with me.

This brings me to the new season. Kudos to ABC for recognizing the need to run this show uninterrupted. It will be a painful 13 week break between the first 6 episodes and the back half but it will make for a much better viewing experience.

I came into last night’s episode with expectations that maybe were too high. For this I blame all the reviewers who raved about this episode, you know who you are, and set the bar really high in my mind. The episode didn’t live up to the level of greatness. Still, this was a good episode. The opening scene in the Others’ village with the book club followed by the island view of the plane crash and Henry/ Ben’s sending Ethan and the other guy to blend in with the survivors was brilliant. I also liked Jack’s back story and Julie Bowen’s heartbreaking final words to Jack (side note: I miss Ed). Sawyer’s game of mousetrap and the fish cracker reward was entertaining and scary at the same time. The mind games that excellent newcomer Juliette played with Jack, particularly her having his father’s autopsy report and the explanation of the Hydra station, was a good way to illustrate that this season things are going to get unpleasant for our castaway heroes. Kate in a towel and a pretty dress is nothing to sneeze at either. I’m not sure we know any more than we did about what’s going on but I’m excited to see more.

I know what you’re saying. That sounds like a lot to like, what didn’t you like. Only one part really – the ending of the episode. I’m not sure why I care that Henry’s name is Ben.  The ominous music started and I expected a huge revelation that will change the way we look at the show (again, high expectations).  Instead, we find out that Henry Gale’s (which we knew from last season wasn’t his real name) real name is Ben.  BFD.

I still love the show and it’s on my must see list every week but I guess I need to come in with normal expectations.  Not every episode can exceed high expectations, unless of course it’s the Veronica Mars season premiere.

Avi’s Episode rating: B+

6 Responses to Lost – Season 3, Episode 1

  1. I totally agree with the overdramtic ending. I just sat there wondering if there was a Ben that had been mentioned (but not seen) insomeone’s backstory or something, but since I didn’t see anyone talk about it today, I guess not (you’d expect at least one overly obsessed fan to notice it if there had). To be honest had you not typed it I wouldn’t even remembered his first name, I’m sure I’ll still just continue to call him Not-Henry Gale.

  2. Travis says:

    I thought the whole story was missing something. I really was looking forward to something more. The Ben part was intriguing, but didn’t bother me too much.

    The monkey getting the banana (aka Sawyer) was stupid, and not Sawyer like. I am lost (no pun intended) with the whole Henry has breakfast with Kate storyline. And the Jack in an aquarium part just didn’t click with me. About the best part was when he tried to escape, but that was rather predictable (maybe I watch too many previews, I only saw about 3).’

    I think next week will be better, though.

  3. avster says:

    Scooter,
    You hit on exactly what bothered me about the ending. I too started looking on the Internet to see if I had forgotten that there was a Ben mentioned before but came up empty. Definitely not the mind blowing ending one reviewer had mentioned.

  4. Bubble gum says:

    lost season 1, 2 and three rock so fuck off and dont watch the show if you dont like it

  5. jim says:

    ^^^ that’s funny

  6. Steve says:

    Lost episode 7 – Not in Portland
    Brainwashing Scene with Karl strapped to the chair in Room 23.
    Seperated with surround sound and played backwards you can hear a creepy woman saying “Only fools are enslaved by time and space”

Leave a Reply

