CBS Sucks – Smith is now cancelled

I really liked Smith. I just watched episodes 2 & 3 and found it to be not only movie quality with fantastic actors, great effects and a story that really drew me in but also unique on television. On the other hand, I knew this show was in trouble as a CBS show. I don’t believe CBS has patience for shows like Smith which are too complex for the network’s typical procedural or bad sitcom viewer (except How I Met Your Mother).  I doubt Jericho will be far behind and after this announcement I might just stop watching now and not waste my time.  Good luck CBS – you might get ratings with your focus instead on new shows like The Class and Shark (which are terrible and you shouldn’t waste your timing watching) but I have no faith in you and the next time you try and launch a show that doesn’t fit your mold I won’t even bother watching.

92 Responses to CBS Sucks – Smith is now cancelled

  1. James belyea says:

    I heard Smith is going to be cancelled which does not surprise me,but I really hope they dont cancel Jericho,its a great show that I really enjoy i love the concept and hope the ratings stay high.

  2. Cloud says:

    CBS finally pulls together a show that takes intelligence to appreciate and now they cancel it. Well I guess its back to bad sitcoms and worthless television that CBS has given the public for so many years. I hate to inform the CBS executives but some viewers desire more than the “King of Queens”.

  3. Ed Flores says:

    Not to sound elitist, but it is blatantly obvious that CBS does not have the stomach to truly take risks w/ good programs. They always opt for the quick, flashy hit, not the good story that might actually generate long term viewers. I welcome that networks slide into oblivion.

  4. Rule 76 says:

    Wow, I am watching Smith and Jericho. Enjoying them both and to find that Smith is being removed is dissapointing. Shark is not on my list to view, I guess they want all of their progams to start as CSI: (NEW CITY HERE)

  5. esp says:

    wow.. i thought smith was the best show i saw this year, and for many years on cbs..i guess ray liota is just not as good of an actor as the guy on king of queens or jeff probst..my god, for as much money as the people make that make these decisions, you’d think they would haver acreative brain cell between them..

  6. Katie says:

    Smith was the “BEST” show of the season. What an idiotic move by CBS. Is there not such a thing as moving it to a different time slot? Now there’s an idea. Virginia Madsen did an excellent job as did Ray Liotta. And just when the some of the characters were getting close to being found out, they cancel it……….thanks CBS for leaving us hanging.

  7. Julie Bormann says:

    What a major disappointment….. “Smith” is a very high quality show with excitement and drama. It’s what nighttime TV is supposed to be all about!
    One of the most entertaining TV shows I’ve seen in years.

  8. Steve in WA says:

    Well – not sursprise they canned Smith – Heist went the same way last year. Those Ocean 11 type shows just don’t keep the mind of pervs looking at Desparate Housewives or should I say – slut neighbors. I know why I live up in the smart TV chanels such as History etc because the networks only want trash and nothing of suspense value.

    CBS – too bad – guess I will take you off my Dish recordings.

  9. Christi says:

    I watched part of Smith, it was ok, but it’s not my genre of show, I do like Ray Liotta though. I hope Jericho isn’t canceled, I really like it. If it is canceled, then CBS isn’t worth **** anymore. I was already disliking them because they didn’t pick up a show I wanted to air because it was another law drama, yet they picked Shark, which is stupid and I can’t stand James Woods, he gives me the creeps. There are a few shows that I will keep watching the network for and if those get canceled then I don’t guess I will watch anymore. The orignal CSI has lost it’s luster and should have ended a season or 2 ago, because they can’t really come up with anything good anymore (primary example: putting K Fed on, ick.). THe best they have is Criminal Minds, The Ghost Whisperer, and Numbers.

  10. Pj Suttle says:

    CBS is full of BOMBASTIC SIMPLETONS to cancel SMITH as they did with INVASION from last season! NBC is ALSO “Dee-Dee-Dee” like to cancel SURFACE from last season! It seems that the networks are full of TARDHEADS in suits that don’t have a clue as how to interpret a focus group from the viewing demographic populice! It behooves me that a FUCKED UP show like SURVIVOR is aired as is SHARK! I’d rather shave my tongue than watch that shite!

  11. Rick says:

    I have not had a chance to watch Smith, but do watch Jericho. If CBS cancels both, thats OK. I’ll just wait for Sci-fi channel to pick them up, they’re not afraid to try somthing different. God knows we need it.

  12. Attaloss says:

    NO FREAKIN’ WAY???!!!

  13. Troy says:

    As Cloud said, “CBS finally pulls together a show that takes intelligence to appreciate and now they cancel it.”

    Is it surprising they gave it the axe? It takes intelligence to appreciate and, sadly, most viewers don’t want to have to think when they watch TV.

  14. Brian says:

    To CBS
    To cancel a show just after 3 shows, just isn’t fair. You liked something about the show when you scheduled the program, give SMITH another chance and aire the remaining shows on Saturday.

  15. Garry Snyder says:

    I found it odd that CBS finally had some shows to compete with FOX Network, but not anymore. Smith was a quality show worth watching, perhaps another network will pick it up, or the “peabrains” in the ivory tower at CBS will have a revelation and reinstate it. However, I find it highly unlikely. Does anyone remember how it was with “Hill Street Blues” and how it was cancelled, then reinstated????? I guess that’s wishful thinking on my part. CBS will remain the also ran network. Does anyone there read these comments???????

  16. Don Braemar says:

    The pilot for this show was of such obvious quality that you just knew it wouldn’t last…on any network. Acting was great by all, music was superb…especially the vocals at the end, filming was wonderful, but best of all was the writing…they actually didn’t beat you over the head and gave the audience credit for being able to follow a somewhat complicated plot with flashbacks, etc. and plenty of silence. WOW when you think about it! Everyone here on this “board” of comments is still probably hoping that another Northern Exposure will sneak through some day…but it’s not likely. Admittedly, the following two episodes were not as good, but they had plenty of room to grow. Also, is it my imagination or was this show, after the pilot, literally stuffed beyond normal with commercials? My suggestion? Try “Dexter” on Showtime. It’s quirky, has great acting, writing, and music. Anyone who liked Smith will probably like Dex altho it is a bit sicker.

  17. Dee Mathey says:

    Why did CBS cancel Smith? That was one of the best shows of the season.

    Whatever happened to the good old days when a new series was given a chance for the WHOLE SEASON, at end of season then shows were cancelled, if not enough watchers. canceling a show in three episodes really sucks.

    CBS How about if the 8 miliion people who watched Smith stopped watching CBS??

  18. Karin says:

    Bummer that SMITH is cancelled…we really like that show and were glad to see Ray Loita on TV. Too bad CBS can’t see it through as we have really gotten to appreciate that show. Great cast, story line keeps you interested so sorry to see it go…..I agree, let them finish out the fall at least before they pull the plug on SMITH…..

  19. Dude says:

    The shows I enjoy always seem to get yanked by Network Morons who cater to the addle-brained masses. Last season Invasion and Surface. Now this season, Smith. What next?

  20. Matt says:

    i thing cbs much of matt an era when they cancelled smith. i knew liotta had good show when he came from the end and contronted to about so called silent treatment.

    it’s all about the money.

  21. TMZ5150 says:

    I agree with all the above. CBS is obviously being ran by morons that either don’t own a tv or don’t care about their viewers. I think it’s both. Smith was as stated previously the SHIT. Well written, acted, filmed, scored and smart. Maybe CBS’s goal this year is to see how many viewers they DON’T have. I guess if they can’t be on the top of the ratings then they can stroke their EGOS’ with “Arn’t we the worste!!!” I guess ya gotta be good at something, if that something is being horseshit.

  22. Gail says:

    I can’t believe they cancelled Smith after a few episodes. Do the execs think that we are too stupid to understand anything with an actual plot? This was one of the few shows on that chanel that caught my interest.

    The characters had depth. You wanted to know why they were doing what they were doing. How they were connected and what they were going to think of next. I wanted to get to know them. What about Ray and the relationship with his wife. Is she doing lots of drugs and having affairs? Is it because she has known what Ray has been up to and this is her way of coping?

    Is there a way CBS can at least put what the complete story line was going to be on their website? Can another station pick it up?

    And speaking of the original CSI, please don’t screw that up. I’ve been watching Williams since one of his first movies To Live and Die in L.A. and I’m a huge fan. Maybe once enough people stop watching CBS, the people who make the choices, will start making smarter ones.

  23. Barbara says:

    Is it any wonder that viewers are heading in droves to cable channels. I am so-o-o over the cookie cutter sitcoms aleuding to average Joes with hot babes as wives who belittle each other ad infinitum. Now “Weeds,” on the other time on Showtime, is a funny, well-written yet edgey comedy which actually makes me laugh. And when finally braving the waters with intelligent, interesting dramatic programs, CBS typifies the knee-jerk reaction to Nielson ratings which must cater to the panderings of grade-school drop outs. I admit I’m a long time West Wing fan, so may have a bit of a bias, but I also enjoyed the refreshing sci-fi shows such as Invasion and Surface, which are now nothing more than rubbage on the side of the road. I could go on and on about cancelled shows which I actually liked, which too fell by the wayside with no thought to the viewing audience. If you must pull a program, how about a final episode or something to give us closure.

  24. Jonny says:

    Smith reminds me of another CBS show that was simply too good for network TV, that the network didn’t give a chance… Wolf Lake. Both shows have a ‘movie quality’ feel to them with superior directing, great actors, and better story telling. Once again, Smith, like Wolf Lake would have probably been a hit on the right network or perhaps on Showtime, HBO, FX, hell, even Spike.

  25. Figmo12 says:

    CBS doesn’t have an eye for good viewing if you need an IQ over 25 they drop it…

    Figmo

  26. Greg says:

    CBS have lost their minds. Why would they cancel a new show after three episodes? Didn’t all the the test data show the theme was wanted. 8 million people is not enough? The show was off to a good start! CBS has no guts, let the show go on and see what will happen. If this kind of reaction is what CBS is about I will never watch a new show from them again. The show was quality and CBS is going down the tubes. Ray belongs in the movies anyway, CBS…you were lucky to have him.

  27. James says:

    Wow … I guess I can take it off my DVR I thought it was a great show I hope another netwrok pics it up. It’s a winner and CBS is a Loser

  28. Rob P says:

    Shocked that Smith was canceled. Best show of the fall season. Everyone here should submit comments to CBS and plead for the return of Smith. It was the only show we watched live it was that good!

  29. Garth says:

    WHAT?
    Smith cancelled? SON OF A MONKEY!!!!!
    Of all the shows I thought would get cancelled first, this one wasn’t even CLOSE on my list. I honestly thought it would be something from FOX or NBC. Now I know why the press was asking CBS if any of there shows where to get cancelled, would they put them on the web like on Innertube? Maybe the show cost too much for them to make, but they could have given it at least one good season to give it cult status.
    As far as Jericho goes, this show has some legs. I can see some good stuff coming out of it. I’m enjoying it. Maybe they’ll cancelled that too and replace it some horrible sitcom about some New York couple. Maybe from Queens.
    Wait a minute. . . . . . I don’t see them on the schedule.
    OH NO . . . . . . . . . . .

  30. Dan C says:

    CBS is in last place for a reason. Smith is an intelligent compelling drama with outstanding production values. The uptight, short-sighted, narrow-minded executives at CBS have succeeded at failing again, even with decent content.

  31. Jack Sterling says:

    Just incase any of you at CBS are wondering were your veiwers are going??

    I can tell you. It is Direct TV and Comcast.

    When CSI is gone you will not have my intrest any longer either.

    You guys would not know a Good show if it bit you in the butt

  32. John K says:

    This is typical. As much as I hate paying for HBO at least they give shows an oportunity to develop. Perhaps one can argue that they may even keep shows on past their prime (Sopranos). But at least I can decide on my own to when to stop watching as opposed to some moron TV exec making the decision for me.

    I guess my new favorite show is Criminal Minds…until that gets cancelled too.

  33. Jodi says:

    Smith is one of the few new shows that I actullay watch. I think it’s a great show! It was like watching a mini movie each week. That’s why CBS will never be the number one network… they cancel all the good shows.

  34. Joseph says:

    I can not believe that a good quality shows get cancelled due to lack of response from the viewing puplic. I really enjoyed the format good actors and a movie like experience. I think CBS would have done good with this show.

  35. Michael says:

    TOTAL B/S!

    I am very upset that Smith is canceled. I was reading the paper and the article said it, but I didn’t want to believe it.

    I was a huge fan of Heat (movie) when I was young and to have a show that mimicked it somewhat was great. Not to mention the plot, acting and to see Ray acting again in a complimenting role.

    Disappointing…TV sucks 99% of the time anyways.

  36. Brian says:

    I have watched all the new shows and clearly felt that Smith was the best new show by far. It’s truly disappointing that a network, that obviously took a lot of time and effort into putting a show like Smith together would abandon it so quickly. Shocked at the level of stupidity by the network exec’s. Do they think that we wouldn’t notice that it wasn’t on or something? That is the worst move by a network I have ever witnessed. Loved it and very upset with CBS. Thanks CBS for leaving me hanging and I’m sure all your other loyal viewers appreciated too. Idiots!

  37. Sandy M. says:

    *sighs deeply* I guess those with the intellect that appreciate shows like SMITH and JERICHO (shows with actual depth) will yet again be driven back to the ‘alphabet’ and NBC stations. I have never seen a network try so hard to NOT develop a loyal following. But I must applaud CBS’s sucess in being able to promote their rivals more efficiently than those networks themselves. I like Katie Curic, she’s a nice change for the evening news but lets face it, she can’t support the CBS network all by herself.

  38. Kim says:

    Smith was the only show that I considered watching on CBS this season. Mainly because it was NOT another CSI! I thought that it had a phenomenal cast and was well written. I am so pissed that we have been left hanging! What’s up CBS ? You couldn’t give this show a month on air? This show shared the same time slot as Nip/Tuck, which in my opinion is one of the hottest and most intriguing shows ever put on television. Take a clue CBS……sometimes it’s worth thinking outside the box. My God I am so sick of Survivor and freaking CSI! Time for a change, but CBS obviously is not ready to take a chance on a show that showcased wonderful acting and had a great story line as well. Thank God for Nip/Tuck! If not for that show Tuesday would definately be a boring night for television!

  39. Jimmy says:

    CBS blew it. They have no clue on what makes a great show. I will think twice before I will take a chance on any new show on this network. The Other network should be careful not to do the same otherwise I might just stop watching all together.

  40. kennydetroit says:

    Does not suprise at all Television is for idiots

  41. DJ says:

    When I heard the news Smith was cancelled I thought it was a joke. This blew all the other new shows away (and most of the recurring ones). I know it’s been mentioned but is there any chance an HBO/Showtime can pick this up? It can only get better without the restrictions network television. I’m so sickened by CBS for giving the best show on their channel 3 episodes to gain a following. I guess we’ll have to wait for the brilliant execs at CBS to greenlight- CSI: Pittsburgh and Survivor: Venice Beach.

  42. Judith says:

    I cannot believe CBS is so stupid. I only watch CBC on 2 occassions. Smith and Grey’s Anatomy. Are they trying to be the least watched channel. Keep it up and there will be no reason to even turn over to CBS. You talk about King of Queens. How many times do you have to watch that show to see the same story each week. A fat man is too stupid to even work for a UPS company. And a wife too stupid to leave him.

  43. marilyn says:

    What a complete dissappointment to cancel Smith. That was one of the best shows of the season. What is wrong with the folks at CBS. They don’t have a clue. I guess this leaves room for them to add another CSI series. Maybe CSI Fresno. Just what we need. Who are the idiots making these decisions? I hope they know that a lot of of are very upset.

  44. NITA says:

    i must say im very disgusted with yet another show being cancelled with no ending done on it. surface and invasion, now smith, its enough to give up on watching any new shows if we are given just enough to peak our interest n then have them dissappear. it is not because of non viewers for these are all good shows, its that u cannot afford to carry out the plots to fruition for financial reasons. i guess it would take more money to produce these action dramas than a sitcom. now how about someone making a mini drama out of these shows or a movie to give us fans closure. please do not cancel jericho without ending it for us. cbs u really have a goldmine sitting on ur shelves gathering dust. how about doing some good housekeeping n put to good use.

    ty

  45. Mike says:

    Well there goes another one…. Don’t you just wish that the TV companies would always have a finally for a show. Hell even if it cancelled, those that watch the show (in SMITH’s case) all 8 million could at least get a little closer. CBS it just as screwed up at the other networks – just more so in most cases. Now I do like CSI (the original one) not the 10,000 spin-offs – it’s like beating a dead horse. Oh well, off to watch LOST – because I like challenging shows that I need to think about.

  46. steve says:

    Go figure…Finally a show that is the small screen version of Heat (one of the best heist movies made in a long time) and CBS just pulls the plug. Why not change the day and/or time slot and give the show a chance? Hell, if it wasn’t for the Unit, CSI shows and NFL games that are blacked out on DirecTV, I wouldn’t even watch CBS and now I know why. Well at least I can watch the 10 pm SportsCenter on Tuesday nights. Thanks for the tease CBS.

  47. Sean says:

    All I have to say is stupid, stupid, stupid. Smith was absolutely one of the best shows to come along and it gets blown out of the water. What the heck is wrong with CBS. As one of the other viewers suggested, haven’t they heard of another time slot. Idiots!!! Is Jericho next?

  48. Nomo says:

    CBS = Complete Bull Shit!
    CBS = Can’t Be Serious
    CBS = Comedy Before Substance
    CBS = Careless Broadcasting Service

    It could of stood for…..

    Can’t Beat Smith!

    Execs at CBS are complete ASSHOLES and you wonder why HBO and the likes are winning Emmy’s like they are growing on trees. Grow some balls and take a risk, such as Showtime with Dexter (brilliant) and FX with Nip/Tuck and the Shield.

  49. OMAR says:

    WITH THE CANCELLATION OF SMITH IT ONLY GOES TO SHOW THAT CBS IS A NETWORK FOR SENIORS WHO ARE NOT IN TOUCH WITH TODAY’S YOUNG ADULTS

  50. OMAR says:

    WITH THE CANCELLATION OF SMITH IT ONLY GOES TO SHOW THAT CBS IS A NETWORK FOR SENIORS WHO ARE NOT IN TOUCH WITH TODAY’S YOUNG ADULTS.

  51. OMAR says:

    WITH THE CANCELLATION OF SMITH IT ONLY GOES TO SHOW CBS IS A NETWORK FOR SENIORS WHO ARE NOT IN TOUCH WITH TODAY’S YOUNG ADULTS.

  52. Vanessa says:

    Wow, I just found out that SMITH was going to be cancelled and I am SO pissed off! I truly do hope that another network will pick it up because it’s definitely a show that needs to be kept around. It was only on for three flippin episodes! CBS didnt even give it a chance! Some people probably havent even had the chance to even hear about the show much less watch it. I swear those people have SERIOUS issues. And if they even THINK about cancelling JERICHO I am SO writing my congressman… :/

  53. Smith Fan says:

    Unbelievable! I was checking my Tivo Monday night to make sure “Smith” gets recorded the next day and it was nowhere to be found. I had a dark suspicion right then but I didn’t want to believe it until it was finally confirmed when I found a cancellation story on the web. Sure I’ve blamed the poor taste of most viewers for shows getting cancelled in the past but I don’t thinks it’s entirely fair in this case because CBS only aired three episodes. Do these imbeciles (network execs) expect every show to become a mega-hit after just a few episodes? This is ridiculous! How can most people be even expected to become fans of a show in such a short time, especially at the beginning of a season when there is such a glut of new shows?
    I was really hoping “Smith” was going to make it but maybe I should have known better after “Heist” and “Thief” were cancelled last season. Apparently, there is no room for shows that break the simplistic “good guys a.k.a. law enforcement types always have to win” formula. Sure, I like that in real life but in TV Land it gets kind of boring when all you get to watch are three or so different “Law and Order” shows, three “CSI” shows, and several other cookie cutter courtroom dramas. Give me a break! What’s next? “Law and Order – Parking Enforcement Unit”? And what’s the rush to cancel “Smith” anyway? Does CBS truly have no open time slots because their line-up is just so fantastic and they have another great show just waiting to replace “Smith”? Doubtful but if they do, you’d better not watch it because it will end up getting cancelled, too.

  54. Carter says:

    Well, thanks for canceling one of the few shows I actually made an attempt to watch.
    This pretty much leaves me disgusted with network television. And I probably won’t bother to watch anything else they decide to air in the future.

    At least there’s still 24 and The Shield.

  55. Mario says:

    When I first read about Smith I thought it would be good. Then while reading about it, it says CBS. I think, if it is good, the morons who run it will probably cancel it anyway. I hate being right somwtimes. I actually found myself looking forward to it. Jaskasses.

  56. Mr Foxhound says:

    What the hell?! Smith was probably the best show on TV that wasn’t on Discovery or the History channel, and because the population is too fucking retarded to understand the plot, CBS cancells it? Well you can go milk Survivor for another 12 fucking years you idiotic retards. And keep your bible thumping Jericho on TV, guess what, the ones not taken by God are the lucky ones. Good luck trying to get another show as good as Smith on your shitty network.

  57. le vicomte de bragelonne says:

    I too can’t believe CBS cancelled Smith….problem is, with all the stupid shows out there that are forever recapping…most moron viewers are too busy multi tasking to follow a story line….
    Smith needs to be on HBO….I thought that from the first episode…it’s far to wonderful of a show to be wasted on a network that mostly airs mindless crap….Survivor…. I rest my case…..
    CBS…you suck….

  58. Kim says:

    Oh damn it!! What the hell is wrong with those idiots? I am so ticked – after the first episode talked to a friend of mine and we had the “should we even bother watching it in case they cancel it” talk (after Invasion and Surface last year we’re feeling manipulated) – but decided Smith was way too good to be cancelled. I HATE them for diong crap like this. (Just read Mr. Foxhound’s words a few comments back – may I just say – Ditto.)

  59. Jason says:

    What CBS doesn’t seem to understand is that when they yank a show so quick, it frustrates people and now these viewers are much less likely to even bother to try another new CBS show for fear it might be cancelled. Why give up an hour of your night to begin a story that probably wont have an end since network execs are so quick to yank?

  60. Bethany says:

    Imagine my surprise when last night I tune in to watch this awesome new show that I am loving and totally into and instead there is a rerun of CSI on, I mean they did show previews for the new episode last week right? Was I hallucinating or something? I AM SO SICK of watching new programs only to have them taken off as soon as I’m really getting into them; it’s bad enough only getting to watch a new program for a year before it’s cancelled, such as Invasion ( I was really pissed about that too) but 3 episodes?!!, what the **** is up with that?!! Smith was far and away the best show that I’ve seen this season and it was the only show from CBS that I actually cared enough about to watch. The quality, plotline, actors, all of it was great and I thought, finally!!, a show worth watching. And now, instead of getting to watch this great new show people are stuck with RERUNS! of other crap shows from CBS!! I just don’t get it. I really wish all these OVERLY paid execs would pull their heads out of their ***es long enough to realize that some people are flat out sick of this mindless crap they put on TV now. I mean, come on, Big Brother, Survivor, Shark … need i say more? I really miss the way TV used to be, when they’d put on a new show and if after giving it a chance for a year … yeah, an actual year! … it wasn’t doing so good, then, and only then, they would give it the ax. Come on CBS, you guys are getting paid way too much money to be making idiotic mistakes like the one you made when you pulled Smith!! I am done with CBS … unless they reinstate Smith that is.

  61. Jeff K says:

    All I would see, the whole month of August, was the SMITH pilot commercials. CBS pimped SMITH so much, that I decided to give it a try. Hell, if you totaled the number of commercial minutes for SMITH, it probably out numbered the total minutes of the three episodes. Finally a show much like “24” that required a little extra thought, and that left you on the edge of your seat wondering what would happen next. Well, it looks as though I will still be wondering what happens next, thanks to CBS. You simply did not give the show enough time. You put it up against Law and Order SVU (the most popular of the three L and O’s) and against Boston Legal, a show thats been on for a couple of years. Hey, I’ve got an idea, JUST CHANGE THE TIME SLOT IDIOTS !!! JERICHO would have suffered the same fate had it been in the same time slot. I don’t know how this works, but I can only hope that another network, or HBO could pick up the show. If that cannot be done, maybe CBS can get their head out of their ass and show the remaining episodes on another night.

  62. Nomo says:

    I love reading everyone’s similar comments, fucking goes to show you that the views should run the networks and that these “execs” (I use that term loosely) should run a McDonalds! Come to think of it, they would screw the pooch on that one too.

    Shit, I am surprised that they didn’t put the show on up against Lost…

  63. Greg says:

    Just like someone said in a previous post, as soon as I saw that CSI rerun last night I knew it had been cancelled. I googled “CBS Smith Cancelled” and found this blog. Tuesdays on CBS was going to be my favorite night of TV all week – NCIS, The Unit and Smith. I fear Jerico will be next.

    It was just too sophisticated for the normal, mindless TV viewer. Looking ahead to next week it looks like they have a repeat of Criminal Minds.

    Sad 😦

  64. DeDe says:

    I cannot believe Smith has been cancelled..After watching the pilot I spread the word to other members of my family that there is finally a show worth watching and it isn’t even reality TV..how disappointed I was when my son called to say he could not find Smith to TiVo..upon investigating as to why not I found out it had been cancelled after only three times of airing..Ray Liotta, Simon Baker what more can CBS ask for?I am hoping a small television miracle happens and another station will pick Smith up or that CBS realizes what a foolish mistake they have made.

  65. smithfan says:

    For those of you upset that CBS cancelled Smith, consider filing a complaint.

    With enough viewer complaints, CBS may reconsider its cancelling of the marvelous fast-paced Smith with its excellent cast including Ray Liotta, Virginia Madsen, Simon Baker and Amy Smart and the show’s superb writing.

    Blame it on CBS’s bad marketing, its only giving the show three episodes of airtime, and CBS’s lack of promoting online viewing of earlier episodes of Smith for those who needed to catch up.

    CBS could have given a better re-cap at the beginning of episodes for new viewers just tuning in. It could have re-run the episodes during off-hours, much like Bravo does, to allow viewers to catch up.

    To complain, call CBS viewer relations at any time day or night to leave a message, or, to reach a live person, call during the hours of 10 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. and 2 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. EST – telephone CBS viewer relations at 212-975-3247.

    You may also email audsvcs@cbs.com (short for audience services).

    You may also go to CBS’s feedback form online to submit your complaint at http://www.cbs.com/info/user_services/fb_global_form.shtml Smith is still listed in the shows on that feedback form.

    You may also sign this online petition to CBS to bring back Smith. http://www.petitiononline.com/cbssmith/petition.html

    You can also vote that you thought Smith was a great show by going to the first official Smith fansite http://www.smith-on-cbs.com/ and voting on the question “What’s Your Opinion Regarding Smith’s Cancellation?”

  66. Denise says:

    DON’T DO IT WHY~!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SUCKS

  67. carey says:

    I totally agree with all of the above. CBS stinks!

  68. Bevan says:

    Wwwwhhhhaaaaaattttt!!!!! Just got back from a long trip and noticed Smith didn’t record last week. Guess I’ll go read a book now. That was my only show on my wife’s Tivo.

    DANG!!!! Wonder if I can buy the other episodes that have already been made.

  69. Rainmaker says:

    CBS is the worst network. They have no balls, or faith to let a show get its legs and run. Do they not remember Seinfeld had no ratings until the 10th show? I am boycotting them, and will continue to watch the other “many” networks. CSI sucks now as well. You guys blow. I know at least 10 people that watched and tivod Smith for the first three and would talk about it at the water cooler.

    God I hate them, first Surface, now Smith. You totally suck.

  70. tina says:

    I am sad that Smith was cancelled. I really liked the show, the story demanded interest and attention. I like shows that ask me to think they ballance the ones I watch that require my mindless attention. I’m sad it was cancelled, though not surprized, CBS hardly promoted it in NM. I didn’t even know CBS cancelled the show until I looked up why it wasn’t on tonight.

  71. bomaster says:

    I knew something was up. I looked for Smith last week, but didn’t see it. However, it was still listed on CBS’s website as being active. I was really getting into it to. The characters were complex, and it actually took an attention span of longer than 30 seconds to determine what was happening. CBS – you blew it again. Please don’t cancel Jericho.

  72. Nomo says:

    So I end up calling the local CBS affiliate here in L.A. as I am pissed beyond words that they would yank such a good program. the answer as to why it was yanked was “it cost a lot of money to produce and ratings were low”. No fucking shit? Did you figure that you could hire Ray Liotta for peanuts? Nice to know that these dumbshit executives do not bother to do research and cost analysis prior to jumping into a project such this. Maybe less pimping so our expectations are not as high next time! Thnakfully the “smart” execs ended-up at HBO, FX, Fox and Showtime. “It cost too much to produce” BRILLIANT answer to which I reply….”My time is too valuable to watch your shitty network”

    GFY!

  73. Graham says:

    Now I know why I can’t find this program. I thought it was one of the most innovative programs on TV since 24 and enjoyed watching it. I can’t believe with the crap on TV they would let this great show drop after only 3 weeks. Sounds like someone at CBS should be dropped instead.

  74. MICHELLE says:

    My boyfriend and I just found out Smith was cancelled, makes sense why we couldn’t find it. We didn’t even know bc you still had it posted on your wed site. How are you going to play re-runs of a show instead? This was a great show! I’m really sad it was cancelled. We were just starting to really get into it. That was a big mistake to get rid of it!!! BRING IT BACK

  75. […] Allow me to up front express my skepticism that this will ever happen.  Sure CBS may try a show or two that are unique but the reality is they won’t stick by them.  When Smith got cancelled and I blogged that I wasn’t surprised given CBS’s track record for not sticking by different kinds of shows, the number of comments from people who agreed was unbelievable to me. […]

  76. charles levin says:

    I can’t believe you cancelled Smith. Why did you cancel it?

  77. george says:

    If it’s not picked up by another network, can we hope for a DVD with all the episodes that were finished? The show pulled 8.5 million viewers – that might not be a “mega” hit, but teh demographics were probably better than the sitcom set – can you say “quality over quantity”?

  78. Macrec says:

    CBS(Cancel Best Series) has no concept of what it’s fansbase likes and watches they instead would rather CSI AND SURVIVOR us to death.

    Smith was an good enough series to give an chance past 3 measly episodes but this is the same network that canceled Simon And Simon in the eighties and brought it back to run behind Magnum PI thursday line-up and an ultimate 8 year run.

    So much goes into planning these shows and It should be an rule that so many episodes are played to help them find a niche!!!!!!!!

    There is an authoritive bias in the entertainment business that is bad for cinema creactivity and that is why all the shows look the dam same on network TV!!!!!!!!!!

  79. j.b. says:

    I liked the show Smith too! Too bad it’s cancelled.

  80. Angela Lopez says:

    I loved Smith and cannot believe it was cancelled. I agree that it was movie quality and had wonderful actors. I am surprised they didn’t run at least the first 6 episodes, that is generally the minimum number of episodes that are shot. This is one of the only shows that I made an effort to watch and not view on my DVR when I got a chance.

  81. Melic Ric says:

    Good riddance to SMITH.

    A show that glorified criminal violence and made it look respectable is just what our society does not need more of.

  82. […] As for shows that I liked but got cancelled before getting a real chance to succeed, Smith and Kidnapped were both in my Good list.  Smith got unjustly cancelled after 3 airings (check out this posting for comments from lots of angry viewers) and Kidnapped got sent to Saturday night to finish off its 13 episode run.  Thinking about it a bit more, I’m going to move Kidnapped to the Good category and look at the show as a mini-series since it will actually have an ending and it’s a great show.  Pick it up on DVD next year, you won’t be sorry. […]

  83. Sandy says:

    Come on people. Smith sucked a… It wasn’t only a bad show it made no sense at all. Ah yes, the special effects, yes they were good but if I want to watch action I don’t watch such a lame show with bad dialog. Jericho starts to suck, too. You can already see that CBS tries to fill the episodes with a lame storyline and lame actors. They are probably going to make 8 more seasons because there will always be people out there who watch crap like that. Oh, and How I met your mother. I liked the show. I thought it was a good concept and refreshingly new but now another season comes and goes with forgetable comedy… probably 4 more seasons will follow until we find out who the mother is….
    Survivor: Somehow I am getting sick of those stupid scenarios CBS tries to built by creative cutting. I don’t even like watching anymore. Merge, merge, merge blablabla. Nooo, not new.
    On the other hand, Heroes rules! Best show! Awesome.
    Yeah, what happened to Invasion. Liked that! Somehow disappeared.
    Lost: Rules, too. No comment!

  84. Greg says:

    Ric, you’re an idiot for claiming that Smith is the only show out there that “glorifies” violence. Please go shut down MTV…it’s doing more harm to our youth.

    Sandy, if you couldn’t “make sense” out of Smith, you’re just a simpleton. Tip: it wasn’t an ACTION show…it’s a drama. Character development and backstories are beyond you, it seems.

    Greg

  85. Nomo says:

    Ric and Sandy…..Unforunately just the type of viewers CBS is looking for.

    Ric, grow some sack and stop watching Extreme Home Makeover or some other program with a group hug happy ending.

    Sandy, maybe subtitles would have helped you follow along and get the plot. The last time I checked Ray Liotta didn’t fall under the category of “lame actor”. However, you fall under the category of “lame viewer”. I am shocked that you like Lost, how do you follow that plot? Oh never mind, yet another hypocrite.

    Done wasting my time with retards!

    Greg, cudos to you.

  86. […] Unaired Smith episodes are going to stream online at CBS.com – I really liked this show and was disappointed when Smith was cancelled.  From my original posting it was clear that lots of people agreed.  You’ll have the chance to see for yourself the direction the show was headed when they put all 7 episodes and a synopsis of where the show was going on cbs.com. […]

  87. Scott Dewey says:

    Look, I really, really loved Smith. It was intelligent, and unexpected, and riveting, with amazing, nuanced performances. When it got cancelled I was actually angry and depressed. And it absolutely adds to my tendency to not invest my time in new shows because this is happening more frequently.

    But as for why it was cancelled? It’s not that complicated. CBS (you may want to sit down for this) is a corporation. It’s sole purpose is to make money by selling advertising. It will not make money by airing shows that do not draw enough viewers to sell this advertising. It is a very simple formula. The networks will air shows that the most people will consistently tune into. And the mouth breathers of America have spoken and said, “We like to watch titillating, voyeuristic reality shows, and simple-minded wrapped-up-with-a-bow-in-an-hour crime dramas.”

    Now I am not saying that the networks are not causing some of their own problems. The ratings for Smith did not warrant a cancellation after only a few shows. It is not enough time to build a following. History has shown that higher quality shows are the ones that will grow their audience once word starts to spread about it. And the quick-draw cancellations makes people less likely in the future to give a new show a chance. I hear more and more, “I’m just going to wait to see if the show is popular, then I will watch it. No sense in wasting my time if it gets cancelled.”

    It’s a vicious circle I don’t see changing any time soon.

  88. duncan says:

    yep. seems like only women have a patience for this kind of show, hence the popularity of desperate housewives et al.
    anyway, if you all want to see new episodes of SMITH, they are airing them on CTV broadband. http://www.ctv.ca

  89. aaron r. lawson says:

    I THOROUGHLY AGREE WITH ALL THE FAVORABLE COMMENTS ON THE , REGRETTABLY CANCELLED, “SMITH”. I FOUND IT TO BE INNOVATIVE AND TOTALLY DIFFERENT FROM ALL THE OTHER OFFERINGS OF THAT GENRE. IT PORTRAYED CRIMINALS AS MULTIDIMENSIONAL CREATURES WITH MANY OF THE PROBLEMS THAT THE REST OF US HAVE. VIOLENT, YES. BUT THAT WORLD ATTRACTS THOSE TYPES OF INDIVIDUALS: EGOTISTICAL, AGGRESSIVE (i.e., VIOLENT, SOMETIMES TO THE EXTREME). MANY OF THEM SURPRISINGLY INTELLIGENT, YET NOT WILLING TO SUBMIT TO THE 9 TO 5 GRIND, AS, BY COINCIDENCE, RAY LIOTTA’S CHARACTER IN “GOOD FELLAS” SAYS, “THOSE 9 TO 5 LOSERS ARE DEAD!”

  90. Mary says:

    Thought provoking, intelligent, well plotted…..if a show has these qualities it will be canceled. CBS is the antis thesis of all of the above. Adjectives for management would be shallow, vulgar, simple-minded and just plain stupid.

Leave a Reply

