TV Review: Friday Night Lights – Episode 3 or “Why I’m no longer watching The Amazing Race”

I had a realization this Tuesday evening – I waste way too much time watching shows I don’t really enjoy. I had just watched Sunday’s The Amazing Race and couldn’t remember anything about it 10 seconds after it ended. There I was 10 minutes into Friday Night Lights, a show that is fast becoming my favourite new show of the season, and it hit me. There are a lot of shows that are truly excellent and I don’t need to watch shows just become they’re a habit. It was that minute I decided The Amazing Race was off my list. (See my earlier post on the topic to see why.)

Enough about shows I no longer watch. I’m here to write about a show that in only 3 episodes has become appointment TV for me. I wrote in an earlier article about the amazing actors in this show who I have no doubt will become big stars. I want to particularly single out the actor who plays Jason Street – his scene where he told his doting girlfriend to wake up and realize that he will never again be who they thought he would be was heartbreaking and real. This is what I love about this show. It’s clear this isn’t going to have a soap opera ending, where he miraculously gets out of bed and goes back to playing football. His life is different and he conveys his grief and bravery in every scene.

This week focused on the impact of losing at football in Dillon. In a heartbeat, the town, the players, the other coaches all turned on Kyle Chandler’s character and the inexperienced quarterback Matt Saracen. The coach demonstrated what a true leader is transforming his players back into a team with a little midnight run. At the same time we saw Tim breaking down from the guilt of not doing enough to protect his best friend and that even with a pep talk from the coach, this is not going to be an easy 1 episode journey from guilt to reconciliation.

I’m already looking forward to next week to see how the new “Katrina refugee” quarterback that they recruited is going to shake things up. If you haven’t been watching, go to NBC’s site and catch up fast. Ratings are going up but you need to jump on fast. You won’t be sorry.

Avi’s Episode Rating: A

2 Responses to TV Review: Friday Night Lights – Episode 3 or “Why I’m no longer watching The Amazing Race”

  1. Mikayla says:

    this show is okay…like i dont like football so i really dont care for the movie!!

  2. Tom Cousins says:

    One of the best shows on television. Don’t take it off the air!

Leave a Reply

