TV Review: The Office – Season 3, Episode 5

Here’s some things I learned from tonight’s The Office:

  • I want to join Dwight’s Army of Champions.   I bet there’s a decoder ring and a fancy handshake.
  • The sales office will present itself to me when I’m ready.
  • It’s hard to be productive without a soft pretzel.  I definitely won’t argue with that sentiment.
  • There are no cuts on Pretzel Day
  • Lovefool by the Cardigans can be more annoying than a squeaky chair
  • You can’t sell until you vanquish fear or Dwight’s cousin Moe
  • I don’t know what I’m going to do when the Internet fad is over
  • If at first your sales call doesn’t succeed, egg the CEO’s parking spot
  • 28 Days is not the same as 28 Days Later

I don’t want to ignore the highlight of the episode, Jim and Pam’s first conversation since he left.  I’ve got to admit, I started to tear up a little.  There is no, more authentic relationship on TV. 

Let’s contrast this with some of the other big couples.  Let’s take McDreamy and Meredith on Grey’s Anatomy.  I detest them both more and more every episode and increasingly am convinced that they may deserve each other but that’s only because no one else should have to be with either of them.  How about Matthew Perry and Sarah Paulson on Studio 60?  I don’t think there could be 2 people with less chemistry and the more this becomes a focal point for the show, the less I want to watch. 

Jim and Pam’s phone call, played as always to perfection by Jenna Fischer and John Krasinski, had the right blend of awkwardness, humour and caring that said volumes about the deep relationship these 2 share even if they don’t end up together.  I have two words to end with: “Branch Closing”.  This is the name of the November sweeps episode coming soon to a TV near you.

Avi’s Episode Rating: A-

Leave a Reply

