TV News: Studio 60 and Men With Trees Picked Up, Six Degrees Almost Cancelled, Jericho Takes a Break and Smith Stream Online

It seems like it’s coming down to the wire but lots of news about full season pick ups, hiatuses and Lost-like scheduling.

  •  Studio 60 gets a full season – I haven’t been shy in my criticism of the show but there’s a lot of potential so I’m glad it’s being given the chance to get better.
  • Men with Trees Gets a Full Season but it’s in Six Degrees’ time slot – I don’t watch either of these shows.  I tried them both but neither resonated with me.  I thought Six Degrees had potential but after a few viewings it didn’t look like it was going to live up to its interesting premise.  I’ll be shocked if its hiatus doesn’t really mean that Six Degrees is cancelled.
  • Jericho is going to split its season to run uninterrupted – Jericho’s fall season will end November 29th and the show will return for a winter season February 21.  I like this format for shows like Jericho and Lost.  It lets the show keep momentum by keeping you intersted week to week.  If you care (I don’t) King of Queens will air in Jericho’s time slot.
  • Unaired Smith episodes are going to stream online at CBS.com – I really liked this show and was disappointed when Smith was cancelled.  From my original posting it was clear that lots of people agreed.  You’ll have the chance to see for yourself the direction the show was headed when they put all 7 episodes and a synopsis of where the show was going on cbs.com.
4 Responses to TV News: Studio 60 and Men With Trees Picked Up, Six Degrees Almost Cancelled, Jericho Takes a Break and Smith Stream Online

  1. Martha Pankau says:

    Please advise if Men In Trees has been cancelled, I cannot find a listing anywhere.
    Love the show and keeping my fingers crossed that there is a delay in starting Season Two.

    Please advise ASAP.

  2. avster says:

    Men in Trees has been moved to Thursdays at 10:00 on ABC.

  3. Mary says:

    Avi, It’s “Men IN Trees” and what’s not to resonate? It’s formula TV using a refreshing story line, witty writing, interesting characters, and easy humor … the characters are interesting and charming.

    And frankly, Avi, you do not understand hormones in an uproar should the network cancel any show, but especially this one, with either Anne Heche or “Woodsman Jack” in it! You can eat the sexual tension with a spoon, I tell you.

    You can keep the cops, robbers, lawyers, and twenty-something self-absorption shows. And the forensic low cleavage. Men In Trees RULES, Avi.

    Thank you for listening.
    Mary

  4. Cheryl says:

    ABC is the most fickle network. They start shows and cancel them at the drop of a dime. I am almost hesitant to watch anything new on their network, Six Degrees, Men in Trees and The Nine were two shows that I watched faithfully and loved. I don’t know who is running things at ABC but they must have a few loose screws! Gee, give a show a break, let your shows run or you may wind up with viewers tuning in to other channels and I will probably be the first to go.

    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

