Could any Network Stoop Any Lower Than Fox – The OJ Murder Special

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: We get the TV programming we deserve.  Variety reported yesterday that Fox will be airing a 2 night special called “O.J. Simpson: If I Did It, Here’s How It Happened”.  Here’s what it’s about:

In the interview, Fox said Simpson “describes how he would have carried out the murders he has vehemently denied committing for over a decade.”

I have no doubt that Fox will get its highest ratings of the season and the networks will commit themselves to providing us the viewing audience with more of this kind of quality programming.  I’m sure it will be followed by Bill and Monica: If we did it, here’s how it happened.

One Response to Could any Network Stoop Any Lower Than Fox – The OJ Murder Special

  1. […] I wrote last week about Fox’s OJ Simpson show “If I Did It” and how this has to be one of the most tasteless things I’ve ever seen and like many predicted high ratings.  Well common sense did prevail and today Fox announced that they’re cancelling the book and not airing the show after tons of criticism in the press and the refusal of some affiliates to put the show on TV.  I know it’s said that any publicity is good publicity but I can’t see how there is any win here for Fox.  After a season of generally poor ratings I don’t think this show would have fixed the network despite its appeal to the basest human voyeur instinct.  […]

Leave a Reply

