Prison Break – Season 2, Episode 13 – The Killing Box

Now that was the Prison Break I remember.  I’ve found this second season to be very uneven with episodes especially in the first part of the season that ranged from boring to ridiculously implausible.  It seemed that once the convicts got out of prison, the writers didn’t know what to do with them.  As the show built towards its first hiatus for baseball, it seemed to regain some momentum, which I attribute to them finally bringing the characters back together to find Moreland’s money and the revelation that Mahone is working for the bad guys.

Since it’s returned from baseball, the show has been lots more fun.  I still cringe everytime I see someone recognizing the convicts but beyond that convenient plot device the show has moved at a good pace.

Which brings us to tonight’s episode.  So I’m one of those who got it wrong.  About 2 months ago I was sure that Mahone was going to switch sides and help Michael unravel the conspiracy.  I’m glad I did because it made tonight’s Kellerman reveal all the more shocking.  It also opens up a good follow on plot for the future as they relink up with Sara after Kellerman just tried to kill her.   So what do you think, is Mahone dead?   I hope not.

The build up to the reveal was definitely suspenseful with Mahone trying to kill Michael and Linc in custody, the set up to get them to run and then their eventual run towards Kellerman.  I was at the edge of my seat the whole time and fairly sure that the cliffhanger would be when they got caught rather than what did happen.  Much better ending.

I also liked T-Bag who was his usual creepy self stealing a prosthetic hand, sleeping with a mailwoman and then finding the woman who sent him to prison.   Is there anything this guy won’t do?  He is by far one of the most unique characters on TV.

I even felt bad for Bellick getting sent to Fox River expecting special treatment but instead getting thrown in with the convicts he previously had ruled over.

Oh yeah Sucre got awaaaaaaazzzzzzzzzzzzy.  So did Sazzzzzzzzzzzzzzra.  Sorry dozed off again.

All in all a great episode that has me waiting with eager anticipation the show’s return in late January.  Much improved for a show I was contemplating dropping back in September.

Avi’s Episode Rating: A-

Leave a Reply

