Boston Legal – Season 3, Episodes 8 & 9

I finally watched the 2 parter of Boston Legal that was on last week and unless last night’s episode was the best damn hour of TV I’ve seen this week I think I’m dropping this one.

As I’ve been thinking of my year in review section I’m working on I decided that I would have a category called: The Show I Watch Most Out of Habit.  Well folks, I think we have a winner.  I like James Spader as much as the next person but I can’t see why every woman on the show seems to fall for him.  I’ve mentioned before my hate of the Jerry Espenson character and I fast forward every scene he’s in, which is becoming a greater percentage of each episode since he seems to be in every one now.  Lincoln Meyer was quirky and entertaining for an episode or 2 as a witness/ suspect in the murder trial but did he really need to kidnap Shirley.  William Shatner continues to steal every scene he’s in but it’s become way too repetitive.  Throw in Delta Burke tackling people and we’ve crossed a line beyond even farce.

I thought the show was actually on the upswing with the addition of the Jeffrey Coho and Claire characters who gave some balance to the idiocy and over the top ridiculousness of the existing cast.  The problem is that they seem to have largely faded into the background the past weeks in favour of lesser characters like Espenson.

My guess is that last night’s episode won’t redeem the show for me but I’ll watch and let you know.

Avi’s Episode Ratings: C

Leave a Reply

