Boston Legal – Season 3, Episode 10 – The Nutcrackers

A week ago I was going to drop Boston Legal from my viewing schedule.  I decided to give it one more chance before I made a decision and although I’m still not sure I’m in for the long hall, I’m giving it two more episodes when it returns in January.

Let’s start with the good.  I think this was the first case we got to see James Spader try this year without his appendage, Espenson.  I did enjoy seeing him deal with clients who he truly despises although I’m not sure why Shirley thought he would lose.  No court is going to break up a family for teaching hatred, even if they are white supremacists.  Still, good to have him back and alone.  I also liked seeing Denny Crane trying the case with the anorexic girl seeking emancipation from her mother.  I appreciated how it continued to further his relationship with Spader as he stepped in behind Denny’s back to bring the case to conclusion.

Now the bad.  I think the rivalry between Brad and Kohoe just isn’t interesting, isn’t compelling and needs to stop.  It’s undermining both their characters.  And finally, did Espenson really need to be in the show.

Bottom line is this show is still on life support with me.  It is the front runner in my 2006 wrap up for the show I still watch purely out of habit rather than enjoyment but for now it gets another week.

Avi’s Episode Rating: B

Leave a Reply

