Golden Globe Nominations Have Been Announced

Here’s the TV nominees and my picks. When I say picks though I want to be clear that I don’t mean who I think is going to win but rather who I think deserves to win based on these nominations.  The list is taken from CNN.

Series, Drama: “24,” Fox; “Big Love,” HBO; “Grey’s Anatomy,” ABC; “Heroes,” NBC; “Lost,” ABC

Definitely not going to be the same as my series picks for 2006.  I liked Big Love but it was far from my favourite of the year.  24 would win if the category was most overrated show of the year.  I enjoy Grey’s Anatomy but I’m still not sure it’s going to make my list.  If I had to choose from this list, my pick would be Heroes.

Actress, Drama: Patricia Arquette, “Medium”; Edie Falco, “The Sopranos”; Evangeline Lilly, “Lost”; Ellen Pompeo, “Grey’s Anatomy”; Kyra Sedgwick, “The Closer”

Ellen Pompeo is the actress I most dislike on TV and I don’t really watch Medium or The Closer.  My pick is Edie Falco who in season 6 was perhaps her best season in a career of great seasons.

Actor, Drama: Patrick Dempsey, “Grey’s Anatomy”; Michael C. Hall, “Dexter”; Hugh Laurie, “House”; Bill Paxton, “Big Love”; Kiefer Sutherland, “24”

I don’t watch House and haven’t seen Dexter yet so I can’t really comment on those shows.  Don’t think I would pick Patrick Dempsey as I find him in a race with Ellen Pompeo for the most annoying character on TV.  If I have to choose from this list I’m going to pick Bill Paxton but don’t expect any of these actors to be on my final list.

Series, Musical or Comedy: “Desperate Housewives,” ABC; “Entourage,” HBO; “The Office,” NBC; “Ugly Betty,” ABC; “Weeds,” Showtime

Has the world gone mad?  Ugly Betty was by far one of the worst shows I’ve watched in years yet critics continue to rave about it.  I just don’t get it.  I still haven’t seen Weeds but I hear good things.  I love Entourage but The Office is my pick.

Actress, Musical or Comedy: Marcia Cross, “Desperate Housewives”; America Ferrera, “Ugly Betty”; Felicity Huffman, “Desperate Housewives”; Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “The New Adventures of Old Christine”; Mary-Louise Parker, “Weeds”

I think Marcia Cross is most deserving but that’s only because I don’t watch Weeds which I hear is great.  I have a soft spot for Felicity Huffman from her Sports Night days but don’t think the past couple of seasons of Desperate Housewives have been her best work.  I tried watching The New Adventures of Old Christine but found it to be just another CBS sitcom.  I’ve already covered my thoughts on Ugly Betty.  So, Marcia Cross it is.

Actor, Musical or Comedy: Alec Baldwin, “30 Rock”; Zach Braff, “Scrubs”; Steve Carell, “The Office”; Jason Lee, “My Name is Earl”; Tony Shalhoub, “Monk”

This is the closest category to what my picks would be.  Alec Baldwin is brilliant on 30 Rock but it’s a bit early to make him the winner.  As I much love Steve Carell, I’m going to have to give it to Zach Braff who after 6 years deserves a win.

Miniseries or movie: “Bleak House,” PBS; “Broken Trail,” AMC; “Elizabeth I,” HBO; “Mrs. Harris,” HBO; “Prime Suspect: The Final Act,” PBS

Can’t comment since I haven’t seen any of these.
Actress, Miniseries or Movie: Gillian Anderson, “Bleak House”; Annette Bening, “Mrs. Harris”; Helen Mirren, “Elizabeth I”; Helen Mirren, “Prime Suspect: The Final Act”; Sophie Okonedo, “Tsunami, The Aftermath”

Can’t comment since I haven’t seen any of these.

Actor, Miniseries or Movie: Andre Braugher, “Thief”; Robert Duvall, “Broken Trail”; Michael Ealy, “Sleeper Cell: American Terror”; Chiwetel Ejiofor, “Tsunami, The Aftermath”; Ben Kingsley, “Mrs. Harris”; Bill Nighy, “Gideon’s Daughter”; Matthew Perry, “The Ron Clark Story”

I haven’t seen all of these but I’m going to have to put my vote in for Michael Ealy in Sleeper Cell who has created the most compelling undercover agent since Ken Wahl with the additional complexity of his religious beliefs.

Supporting Actress, Series, Miniseries or Movie: Emily Blunt, “Gideon’s Daughter”; Toni Collette, “Tsunami, The Aftermath”; Katherine Heigl, “Grey’s Anatomy”; Sarah Paulson, “Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip”; Elizabeth Perkins, “Weeds”

I’ve written many times before how much I hate Sarah Paulson so she’s out of contention.  I’m going to have to choose Katherine Heigel not only because of her work on Grey’s Anatomy but also because I still have a soft spot for her from her Roswell days.

Supporting Actor, Series, Miniseries or Movie: Thomas Haden Church, “Broken Trail”; Jeremy Irons, “Elizabeth I”; Justin Kirk, “Weeds”; Masi Oka, “Heroes”; Jeremy Piven, “Entourage”

Masi Oka is awesome in Heroes but Jeremy Piven is so great as Ari on Entourage that he deserves the win as long as his show is on the air.

That’s it.  Check out my end of year wrap up coming live before the new year.

Leave a Reply

