You’ve got to be kidding me: Lost may go 7 Seasons

It’s the TV Critics Association press tour and the team from Lost laid out some of their plans for the show.  The news is good, not so bad, bad and really bad.

Let me start with the good.  Next season the show will likely run uninterrupted starting in January.

Now the “may not be so bad” – they really don’t know how long the show will last but it may end at 5 seasons – which I think is totally reasonable for an end point.

Now the bad news.  It’s more likely the show will last 7 years when the creators’ contracts are up.  That means 4 1/2 more years without resolution which is way beyond the point when I’m going to care anymore.

Now the really bad news.  Here’s the quote from the article:

“It’s time for us to find an endpoint to the show,” said Cuse, speaking Sunday at ABC’s portion of the TV Critics Assn. press tour. “It’s a struggle for us, because we don’t know if we have three years, four years or more to go. If we had an endpoint, then we could figure out where everything goes.”

Read it again.  They don’t have an endpoint in mind and they don’t know “where everything goes”.  So much for thinking they have a master plan.   This isn’t going to stop me from watching this season but if I was skeptical before that this show was going to drag on I’m even more concerned now.

What do you think?  Does this make you more concerned?

5 Responses to You’ve got to be kidding me: Lost may go 7 Seasons

  1. sourlime says:

    I haven’t watched Lost yet, although the kid keeps on telling me I should. But it never ever ever occurred to me that Mr. Alias would have an ending in mind. I figured they’d decide when they got the axe, whenever that is, and in the meantime, just make thing even more twisty and convoluted.

    Speaking of, I should watch that last season one of these days.

  2. Stephen says:

    As long as it motivates them to start explaining things…

  3. Diane says:

    I think you misunderstood what you read. They dont have an endpoint to the SERIES, meaning they dont know how many episode they have to pace out the plot.

    If they knew it was going to be, lets say, 2 more seasons, then they would know how to pace and space the rest of the revelations, and reveal what we do not know, and figure out “where everything goes”

  4. avster says:

    I appreciate that. Still doesn’t fill me with warm and fuzzies.

  5. I can tell that this is not the first time at all that you mention this topic. Why have you chosen it again?

Leave a Reply

