Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip – Season 1, Episode 14 – The Harriet Dinner

As Chandler Bing would have said: Could this show get any worse.

The show launched with such promise and as the season has progressed it’s gotten worse and worse and worse.  Well, this week the show hit rock bottom for me and I’m at most one episode away from dropping it.

I’m all for a show changing direction when things don’t work but turning the show from a SNL behind the scenes into a romance show is not the way to fix this show.  Is it possible to have storylines more contrived than getting a potential couple stuck on a roof so they have time to chat about their relationship or someone being forced to break a date with the girl he likes to take out another girl and having her show up at the same party.  When you balance the romance with humour like a lost snake chased by a ferret chased by a coyote, it’s not surprising that I couldn’t care less.

The bad storylines isn’t the worst thing about Studio 60.  It’s the characters.  I detest almost every character on the show.  Take Danny (who I admittedly still call Josh) who has either been invisible or a stalker.  Hariett who is annoying to the point where I cringe every time she opens her mouth and leave the room every time she references her religion.  Simon who doesn’t speak without being condescending.  Jordan just bothers me.  Tom has almost no personality despite the writers’ best efforts to give him one.  Run Dawn, go back to Tim.  (Sorry Office reference).  I still like Matthew Perry even though I can’t understand why he would chase Hariett.  Steve Weber is the standout who steals every scene he’s in.  He’s the Alec Baldwin character on this show and if I had my druthers they’d fire everyone and build a show around him and the network side of the TV business.

Bottom line: I’m indifferent or bored by the storylines, I hate the characters and dislike the overall direction of the show.  Stay tuned next week to see if this once promising show is permanently removed from my viewing schedule.

Avi’s Episode Rating: C-

Leave a Reply

