Brothers & Sisters – Getting Better All the Time

Let me first start by saying I haven’t seen last night’s episode but that doesn’t change what I’m going to say or actually link to.  I’ve been meaning to write a review of this show but every week I find something better to say about another show.  This week I’m going to take the easy way out and link to Alan Sepinwall’s column on the show since I agree pretty much with everything he says. 

After seeing the first few episodes of the series I had one reaction – like the cast (except Kitty), the rest kind of bores me.    Maybe it’s that I love Tom Skerrit and was disappointed that they got rid of him in the first episode.  Maybe it’s that there wasn’t much of a story to pull me in. 

Then, as Alan writes, along came Greg Berlanti from one of my favourite shows of all time, Everwood, and in the last half dozen episodes he’s made Brothers & Sisters a show I really enjoy watching.  No one can manage a family story like he does and he’s even made Kitty less annoying for me.  The episode where they go to the cabin and the one with Nora’s birthday both were stellar shows equally balancing humour, family drama and actual stories. 

I don’t think it’s every going to be an Everwood which seemed a little smaller and more real than Brothers & Sisters.  Still different is okay and maybe with Emily Van Camp joining the cast as Rebecca in addition to the recent addition of the amazing Rob Lowe, the show will continue to get better each week as it has since the series started. 

Avi’s Show Rating: B+

One Response to Brothers & Sisters – Getting Better All the Time

  1. Vance says:

    Totally agree. I find myself really looking forward to it now, and while Everwood seemed to somehow balance a bit more realism into its quirky little town, Brothers and Sisters is not doing a bad job.

    I actually found myself watching it before watcing Heroes this morning when I got back into town.

Leave a Reply

