Reevaluating My TV Schedule

Maybe it’s the post-sweeps blues but about 2 weeks ago I started to feel like I need to reevaluate my TV schedule.  I’m finding more and more shows I watch to be dissatisfying. At the end of a show the credits roll and 20 minutes later I can’t remember or care what happened.

This never used to happen to me.  I enjoyed TV shows for the pure entertainment value, no matter how limited.  Now I find myself regularly questioning why I bother with some shows.

After spending some time reflecting, I think I know what’s changed.  TV is in a great place.  There are so many good, high quality shows on the air and I have such a backlog of great shows on DVD that it’s become increasingly obvious when I watch something mediocre or even worse watch  something out of habit.

Here are the some of the shows I could stop watching tomorrow and not really care: 24, Boston Legal, Desperate Housewives, Gilmore Girls, Law & Order, Prison Break, Studio 60, Amazing Race, The Simpsons, American Idol and Survivor.  Again, it’s not that I don’t like these programs, just that they’re generally forgettable compared to the other shows I watch: Lost, Veronica Mars, Heroes, Battlestar Galactica, Friday Night Lights, Scrubs, How I Met Your Mother, 30 Rock , The Office and more.  When you throw in some of the upcoming shows like Sopranos, The Shield and Entourage and some of the programs in my DVD queue like Deadwood seasons 2 & 3, MI5, Everybody Hates Chris, and Extras I ask myself why I bother with shows I only sort of like.

The next few weeks seem to be chock full of reruns so I’m going to take this time to make some hard decisions on my viewing habits.  I will make sure that when we go into the April-May block I will be able to devote the right amount of energy into my viewing so that I can bring you the best damn TV ramblings that an Avi can bring you.

One Response to Reevaluating My TV Schedule

  1. Yoni says:

    We’ve dropped 24, the Simpsons, Prison Break and watch the Amazing Race on PVR – usally takes less than 15 minutes with the FF.

    Can’t seem to drop Studio 60 or desperate housewives yet.

Leave a Reply

