American Idol – How I Did This Week and the Delusions of Simon Cowell

Whoo, hoo.  I finally got it right.  Brandon got booted last night just like I predicted.  He definitely wasn’t the worst but between forgetting the words, generally sucking and going first and not having the “fan base” of Sanjaya he was toast.

Now on to Simon.  He’s being interviewed on 60 Minutes this week and check out this excerpt as reported by the Orlando Sentinel:

In the interview, Cowell tells Anderson Cooper: “I sell more records than Bruce Springsteen.”

The rock star has a contract with Sony BMG  reported to be in the neighborhood of $100 million.  “In the last five years, I’ve probably sold over 100 million records,” Cowell says. “If [Springsteen] got 100 [million dollars], I should have got 500.”

Awesome.  Let me make sure I understand this, Simon is the judge of a talent show and Bruce is one of the greatest singer/ songwriters ever (listen to The Wild, the Innocent and the E-Street Shuffle and then come back and disagree).  I see how it would be possible to confuse the level of talent between the two.  I think the marketing guy at Sony BMG, the Fox editors and camera people on the set and have almost as much claim as Simon.  Silly, silly man.

Leave a Reply

