Grey’s Anatomy – Season 3, Episode 21 & 22 – The Other Side of this Life

I was all ready to echo the critics’ disappointment in this episode setting up the Addision spin-off when I read TV Gal’s column this week and decided not to reinvent the wheel.  Here’s what she had to say:

It was boring: The episode created the greatest offense of any series: it simply can’t be dull. I don’t know if it was because they were trying to introduce too many characters at once (oh look a womanizer here, a serial monogamist there) or if because we are so used to the bizarre medical story lines on “ER,” “Nip/Tuck” and “Grey’s Anatomy” that nothing can shock us (so the surrogate mother slept with three men, so what?) But I’m here to tell you it simply didn’t work. No wonder the show’s working title is “Private Practice.” A show this boring deserves a boring title.

I didn’t connect with any of the characters: How can I love so many of the actors and not like any of the characters they’ve been saddled with playing. To see Chris Lowell, who is so compelling and delightful as Piz on “Veronica Mars,” reduced to shirtless eye candy? The fabulous Amy Brenneman in such a cliched situation (Looking awful and running into my ex-boyfriend at the supermarket). It pains me to say this, but I didn’t feel the need to see any of them every again.

Not one moment was believable: That scene between Addison (or Addie as her California friends call her) and Tim Daly in the stairwell was simply preposterous. I don’t ask for utter realism but — come on — who says something like “I’m going to kiss you. I’m going to kiss you with tongue. I’m going to kiss you so you feel it.” I was actually embarrassed for both of them.

I completely agree with her.  With a great cast and great lead character I thought the show couldn’t miss but it really did. They made Addison, who was the best character on Grey’s, into Meredith, the worst character on the show.   Great, likable actors like Tim Daly and Taye Diggs who keep having their shows cancelled deserve a winner but the way this show is looking so far it isn’t going to be “Private Practice”.

On a side note, I want to give my vast TV knowledge props for remembering that Kate Walsh and Tim Daly played ex-spouses once before on Eyes, a fantastic program cancelled way before its time.

Avi’s Episode Rating: C

One Response to Grey’s Anatomy – Season 3, Episode 21 & 22 – The Other Side of this Life

  1. […] watched the pilot of this show last season in Grey’s Anatomy, I thought it sucked. (Check out my review if you don’t believe me.) They took the best character on Grey’s Anatomy and turned her […]

Leave a Reply

