Survivor: Fiji – Finale

I stopped watching Survivor pretty early during the fall season.  The formula just stopped working for me and I’ve been pretty uninterested the past few seasons.  I started watching Survivor: Fiji at the beginning of the season and after a few episodes decided to drop the show.  Then something happened.  I decided to watch an episode mid-way through and found this season to be one of the most entertaining in a long time.  A good cast really does make the difference and a few new twists like multiple hidden immunity idols and some remixing of the teams didn’t hurt either.

I’m not going to write too much except to say congratulations to Earl with a unanimous win.  Once Dreamz screwed over Yau-Man and presuming Earl wanted to have a shot there was no other outcome.  Yau Man would have beat anyone so it’s hard to blame Earl for not keeping him in at the end.  Cassandra wasn’t going to get points for not doing anything and Dreamz lied to everyone.  I liked the twist of 3 finalists and I think the final jury presentation was one of the best in the show’s history.

I also have to say congrats to Survivor for giving us a hell of a season – the likes of which we haven’t seen since the show’s heyday.

Avi’s Season Rating: B+

Leave a Reply

