Avi’s Fall TV Preview 2007 – Tuesday

For me Tuesday is looking to be quite a light TV night.

ABC

8:00 – 8:30 – Cavemen – All of the bad press for this show has focused on it’s roots as a spin-out of a TV commercial from Geico.  From what I’ve seen it looks like there’s plenty of badness to focus on in the show itself.  Entertainment Weekly says that some of the pilot has been reshot and while I’d admit the one I saw wasn’t as bad as I expected it would be, the very unsubtle focus the show has on the difficulty that cavemen have trying to live in a world of non-cavemen presented as social commentary was a little too much for me.  I’ll be skipping this show. (Starts Oct. 2)

8:30 – 9:00 – Carpoolers –  The buzz on this show is pretty bad but I’m going to give it a try.  I have a soft spot for Jerry O’Connell from his Sliders days (as well as Stand By Me, one of my favourite movies of all time) and Fred Goss was on one of the best shows last season Sons & Daughters.   I’m not sure there’s legs in a show about guys who commute to work but here in Canada they did maintain a daily show for a few seasons with a similar premise so you never know. (Starts Oct. 2)

10:00 – 11:00 – Boston Legal – By the end of last season I made the decision to give up on this ridiculous farce and its number of Emmy nominations only strengthened my resolve.  On the flip side, most of the characters have been fired and they are adding John Laroquette to the cast and he might draw me back for one or two episodes.  Still, my guess is that by the third episode I will have had enough and Boston Legal will permanently drop off my viewing schedule. (Starts Sept. 25)

CBS

10:00 – 11:00 – Cane – The premise of a Cuban family version of Dynasty with A-list TV actors like Jimmy Smits, Hector Elizondo and Rita Moreno sounds like it could be fun.  But then again it’s airing on CBS so I give it 4 weeks before it gets canceled by the network which doesn’t have much patience for letting serial dramas grow if they don’t jump out of the gate with huge ratings.  I’m definitely going to watch even though critics have hated the pilot.  (Starts Sept. 25)

NBC

10:00 – 11:00 – Law & Order: SVU – The best of the Law & Order franchise and one of the few procedurals in a world of procedurals that I still watch religiously.  It’s a good thing NBC’s negotiations to keep its two lead detectives was successful.  Without them the show would not be as compelling – just go back and watch some of the episodes last season where Benson was replaced and see if you disagree. (Starts Sept. 25)

Fox  – Nope.  I don’t watch House or Bones.

The CW

9:00 – 10:00 – Reaper –  The premise of a slacker who has to hunt down escaped souls from Hell on behalf of the devil sounds a little out there for me.  Still, the critics seem to really be high on this and I loved star Bret Harrison in his last show The Loop and I understand that Ray Wise (the great Leland Palmer) as the devil is awesome.  That’s enough to get me in the door. (Starts Sept. 25)

Bottom Line:

Here’s what I’m going to be watching:

8:30 – 9:00 – Carpoolers (ABC)

9:00 – 10:00 – Reaper (CW)

10:00 – 11:00 – Law & Order: SVU (NBC)
I’m going to record: Cane

I’m on the fence about: Boston Legal

I absolutely will not be watching:  Dancing with the Stars, Cavemen, NCIS, The Unit, The Biggest Loser, Singing Bee, Bones, House, Beauty and the Beast.

Leave a Reply

