Avi’s Fall TV Preview 2007 – Wednesday

Here’s how my Wednesday is shaping up:

ABC

8:00 – 9:00 – Pushing Daisies – I’m hearing mixed reactions on this one – everything from this being the best show of the year to it being too “out there” to waste time on.  The premise of a man who can bring the dead back to life by touching them and does so to solve mysteries seems a bit too Ghost Whisperer for me.  Throwing in a romance angle is making me more interested.  However, given the polarization of the critics there is only thing a true TV lover can do; I need to watch it myself.  (Starts October 3)

9:00 – 10:00 – Private Practice – Like many others, I too did not enjoy the 2 hour pilot that was shown last season on Grey’s Anatomy.  The show seemed to take everything we liked about the Addison character and turned her into a cross between two of the most hateful characters I can remember – Ally McBeal and Meredith Grey.  They also didn’t seem to know what to do with the top class TV actors they recruited, from Tim Daly to Taye Diggs to Amy Brennerman, etc.  The word on the pilot for the series seems to be promising and I do like the cast and lead character enough to give it a chance.  Personally I won’t be surprised if I stick with this show and drop the original Grey’s. (Starts Sept. 26)

10:00 – 11:00 – Dirty Sexy Money – Another show with a great cast, a great pedigree in the brilliant Greg Berlanti and a great nighttime soap premise with Peter Krause as the Darlings’ family lawyer who has to keep them out of trouble.  It’s the one new show (besides the above Private Practice) that my wife is likely to watch this season and you know how much I enjoy watching TV with my wife.   (Starts Sept. 26)

CBS  – I’m watching nothing.  The new show Kid Nation looks like a train wreck, publicity or no publicity, and the procedural Criminal Minds and CSI: Whatever has no interest for me.

NBC

9:00 – 10:00 Bionic Woman – Yes, I am one of those people who grew up on the original and its companion series The Six Million Dollar Man.  This reimagining of the series seems to be a lot darker taking its cue from the brilliant and successful reimagining of Battlestar Galactica.  In fact it even has Starbuck as a bad guy.  I understand the pilot was just okay but I’m looking forward to this becoming the new Alias.

10:00 – 11:00 Life – This show is a maybe for me.  It’s the story of a former cop who gets out of prison (framed of course) and looks to reenter the world and solve crime with the help of a friend from prison.  Sounds a bit too repetitive and formulaic but I’ll give it a couple of episodes to test the waters. (Starts Sept. 26)

Fox

8:00 – 8:30 – Back to You – I’m a huge Cheers and Frasier fan.  Kelsey Grammer did great things with the character and I’m guessing he’s going to be good on this show as well.  (I never watched Everybody Loves Raymond so I can’t comment on Patricia Heaton.)  The premise is that Kelsey is a news anchor exiled from the big city markets and goes back to Pittsburgh where he got his start.  The one concern is that this show just may be too traditional a sitcom and frankly skew a little too old for me.  I’ll give it a few episodes to decide. (Starts Sept. 19)

The CW

9:00 – 10:00 – Gossip Girl – I still wish Veronica Mars was in this spot and that Kirstin Bell was doing voice over on her own show instead of this one but “it is what it is”.  I’ve never read the books this show is based on and although I’ve seen lots and lots of previews I still am not completely sure what the show is about.  It seems like it’s about rich teens and all the indulgences and petty squabbles they have with each other.  Given its OC connection, as developed by Josh Schwartz, it should be a fun ride – at least until Oliver comes along.  (Starts Sept. 19)

Bottom Line:

Here’s what I’m going to be watching:

8:00 – 9:00 – Pushing Daisies (ABC)

9:00 – 10:00 – Bionic Woman (NBC)

10:00 – 11:00 – Dirty Sexy Money (ABC)

I’m going to record: Private Practice, Back to You, Gossip Girl

I’m on the fence about: Life

I absolutely will not be watching:  Kid Nation, Criminal Minds, CSI:NY, Deal or no Deal, Til Death, Kitchen Nightmares, America’s Top Model.

Leave a Reply

