Avi’s Emmy Predictions

I interrupt my Fall TV Preview edition for a quick look at the Emmys before tonight’s ceremony. Now I’m not a big fan of awards shows. I can’t stand the Oscars and although I’m a big TV fan and should love the Emmys my favourites rarely get nominated or win (look up The Wire or Friday Night Lights in the dictionary).

That being said I will likely record the Emmys and watch on fast forward and I feel it is incumbent on me as a blogger to make my picks for at least the big categories, in advance, so here we go….

Best Drama Series:

Boston Legal – It’s bad enough this ridiculous show got a nomination over the 20 shows I would put in its place but there’s no way it’s going to win. Right?

Grey’s Anatomy – Sub-par season at best. I hope not.

Heroes – Love the show but I’m not sure it’s worth yet. Maybe next year.

House – I don’t watch procedurals even though I hear it’s good.

The Sopranos – This is a lock for a win in its final season and of the nominees the best of the lot.

Should win: The Sopranos. Will win: The Sopranos. Should win a perfect world: The Wire

Best Comedy

Entourage – A great show but the last season wasn’t as good as season 2 or 3A.

The Office – I write about this one all the time. One of my favourite shows on TV which had a stellar 3rd season with one of the great mergers of all time.

30 Rock – After a weak start, this is a show (like Arrested Development) that has only gotten better and funnier with repeat viewings. It may need another season to grow though.

Two and a Half Man – See Boston Legal above. This is a cruel joke on the TV viewers. I would have replaced this with How I Met Your Mother.

Ugly Betty – I know everyone loves it but I couldn’t get past the first episode. It was a bit too over the top and campy for my tastes especially on the hyper-competitive Thursday night.

Should win: The Office. Will win: Ugly Betty. Should win a perfect world: The Office

Best Actor – Drama

James Spader, Boston Legal – Nooooooooooooooo. Replace with Kyle Chandler from Friday Night Lights

Hugh Laurie, House – I don’t watch but I do hear he’s great in the role.

Denis Leary, Rescue Me – He’s great in the role and was great in season 3 (which I assume is what the nomination is for) in the aftermath of this son’s death. However, the past season which I just finished watching left me feeling a little disappointed with the show and is perhaps unfairly tainting my opinion of Dennis Leary.

James Gandolfini , The Sopranos – He may be one of the best actors ever in the medium and as his world fell apart this season Gandolfini really explored just how evil, unrepentable and irredeemable Tony Soprano is. Yet, we still like him. I’m pretty convinced he’ll be rewarded for what is likely his last small screen appearance.

Kiefer Sutherland, 24 – Another you have to be kidding. He’s good in the role but I’m not sure I’d call it acting. I’d replace Keifer with Michael C Hall for Dexter.

Should win: James Gandolfini. Will win: Hugh Laurie.

 

Best Actress – Drama

Sally Field, Brothers & Sisters – Every time I watch the show I am constantly amazed at what a truly gifted actress she is and how this is the perfect role for her.

Kyra Sedgwick, The Closer – I don’t watch it. I hear she’s good but can’t imagine her comparing to some of the others on this list.

Mariska Hargitay, Law & Order: SVU – She is great on the show putting as much character as possible into what tries to be a character-less show but she was absent for half the season and I’m not sure the part is as meaty as the rest of the ones on this list.

Patricia Arquette. Medium – Another show I couldn’t get past the first episode on. Replace with Kristin Bell.

Minnie Driver, The Riches – Haven’t seen it yet.

Edie Falco, The Sopranos – She was 100% robbed last year not even getting a nomination. Her scenes in season 6A by Tony’s bedside and with Melfi as she grappled with her role in Tony’s world were world class. She was also great in its final season and deserves to be rewarded.

Should win: Edie Falco. Will win: Sally Field.

 

Best Actor, Comedy

Ricky Gervais, Extras – Great show and he is definitely a fantastic actor in roles like this. Although he won for The Office a few years ago I’m not sure they’re prepared to reward him again.

Tony Shalhoub, Monk – Another show where the appeal eludes me. He’s good in the role but a one-trick pony who has been nominated too many times already. I would replace with Zach Braff.

Steve Carell, The Office – Fantastic as the clueless boss who is a hell of a salesman.

Alec Baldwin, 30 Rock – Was he joking that he wanted out of this show? Has he watched himself in any movies the past decade? None compare to his role as Jack Donnegy.

Charlie Sheen, Two and a Half Men – Another cruel joke.

Should win: Alec Baldwin. Will win: Alec Baldwin (the voters love move actors who cross over)

 

Best Actress, Comedy

Felicity Huffman, Desperate Housewives – I love the actress but she’s increasingly become one of the most grating on a show of grating actresses.

Julia Louis-Dreyfus, The New Adventures of Old Christine – I stopped watching after the first season although I hear it’s actually a pretty funny show.

Tina Fey, 30 Rock – She is the perfect foil to Alec Baldwin and the way she interacts with the rest of the characters is equally brilliant.

America Ferrera, Ugly Betty – Don’t watch.

Mary Louise Parker, Weeds – I haven’t caught up on this show but I never really liked the actress. I hear the show is excellent though.

Should win: Tina Fey. Will win: America Ferrera

 

Supporting Actor, Drama

William Shatner, Boston Legal Great in the role but by no means an outstanding actor. Replace with Enrico Colantoni from Veronica Mars.

TR Knight, Grey’s Anatomy – Ehhh. His relationship with Izzie was so unbelievable that there’s no way he should win. Replace with any of the 4 kids or Bunny Colvin from The Wire.

Masi Oka, Heroes – The breakout character from the season – funny, charming and apparently a genius

Michael Emerson, Lost – Truly stood out and made his mark from the lousy first 1/2 of the season to the gripping back 1/2.

Terry O’Quinn, Lost – I thought he was better in previous seasons but still good. I’d replace him though with Shane from The Shield or Jason Street from Friday Night Lights.

Michael Imperioli, The Sopranos – Looking at past seasons it’s amazing how integral Christopher was to the show as the new generation of mobster. This carried through right to his shocking death.

 

Should win: Michael Emerson. Will win: Masi Oka. Should win a perfect world: Randy or Michael from The Wire.

 

Supporting Actress, Drama

Rachel Griffiths, Brothers & Sisters – Great as part of the ensemble cast but I’m not sure she stood out enough for me.

Katherine Heigl, Grey’s Anatomy – See above with TR Knight. No way.

Chandra Wilson, Grey’s Anatomy – Even on the worst episode of the show, Baily sticks out as the heart and soul of the show.

Sandra Oh, Grey’s Anatomy – A good choice also.

Aida Turturro, The Sopranos – Definitely a memorable character but I think she stood out more in season 5

Lorraine Bracco, The Sopranos – Her final scene with Tony and her recognition that he is beyond help were the perfect cap on an amazing character.

Should win: Lorraine Bracco. Will win: Lorraine Bracco.

 

Supporting Actor, Comedy

Kevin Dillon, Entourage – Always memorable in every scene he’s in.

Jeremy Piven, Entourage – The raw energy of the show. Without him, there would be no Entourage and the last season where he’s fired by Vince allowed Piven to show his best work.

Neil Patrick Harris, How I Met Your Mother – Out… wait for it…standing. Steals every scene which is not always easy when you’re competing with Robin Sparkles.

Rainn Wilson, The Office – I would have replaced with John Krazinski. Dwight continues to grow on me every year especially as his secret relationship with Angela leads to fun moments like his attempted coup and banishment to Staples.

Jon Cryer, Two and a Half Men – Not worth the print. Replace with Dr. Cox from Scrubs.

Should win: Neil Patrick Harris. Will win: Rainn Wilson.

 

Supporting Actress, Comedy

Jaime Pressly, My Name Is Earl – 5 years ago I never would have written this but a truly gifted comedic actress and a standout on a great cast.

Jenna Fischer, The Office – I can’t remember which critic wrote it but watch the final scene of last season’s finale and tell me you aren’t in love with Pam.

Holland Taylor, Two and a Half Men – Good actress. Lousy show. Replace with Robin Sparkles.

Conchata Ferrell, Two and a Half Men – Replace with Carla from Scrubs.

Vanessa Williams, Ugly Betty – I don’t watch but hear she’s good in the role.

Elizabeth Perkins, Weeds – Also don’t watch.

Should win: Jenna Fischer. Will win: Vanessa Williams.

2 Responses to Avi’s Emmy Predictions

  1. Rich says:

    The relationship between Izzie and George..what does that actually have to do with the Emmys? Is it not about acting and performances? The actor or actress has little control over crappy storylines…I am no fan of the George / Izzie hookup..but with a shadow of a doubt Heigl has been the best thing on Grey’s this year. Wilson has had nothing to do (no storyline to showcase her talent) and Oh has such a one dimensional character in Cristina..is she ever anything but grumpy and sour faced? Heigl all the way.

  2. avster says:

    I agree that the actors don’t have much say over the storylines but they still are in charge of selling them. A good story could be hurt by bad acting just as a bad story could be redeemed by good acting. In this case neither were good.

Leave a Reply

