Gossip Girl – Season 1, Episode 2 –

I got excited about this show for the sum total of 30 seconds.  Then I remembered that despite the voiceover it wasn’t Veronica Mars.

It’s Strike 2 for this show.  One more episode I don’t care about and the show is off the list.  When you’re as behind on your watching as I am only one week into the season I’m going to be extra discriminating this year and be a lot quicker to drop shows that bore me.   Oh yeah, in case I’m not being obvious enough, Gossip Girl is a show that is really boring me.

Outside of Blair who I really enjoy watching and is the only real, complex character on the show, the rest are very forgettable.  I can’t believe Serena was ever the queen bee of the Gossip Girl world.  She demonstrates the personality of a piece of wood.  Blair’s boyfriend actually seems a good match for Serena as he fades into the background in every scene he’s in.  In the first episode alone Chuck has tried to rape two different girls which makes him out of the gate completely unsympathetic which is not the mark of a good soap villain.  A good soap villain needs to have a hint of redeemability and this guy doesn’t have it.  Dan is funny and has good comic timing but he’s just not believable as being interested in this world or if he really liked Serena why would he care what she did before she met him.  His sister, however, is actually not bad as she balances innocence with her desire to be like Blair or Serena.  Her story is the one interesting one on the show but seems more backburner than front burner.  The parents are fine but not as good as on the OC.

I’m not going to spend more time writing about this show.   It’s got one more week to convince me that this should stay on my list.

Avi’s Episode Rating: C-

Leave a Reply

