30 Rock – Season 2, Episode 1 – Seinfeld Vision

It’s hard to believe that at this time last season I was panning 30 Rock.  After one episode I pretty much decided not to watch any more.  Boy was that dumb.  Somewhere around the 7th or 8th episode I ended up watching and I literally cried from laughing so hard.  I, of course, went back and watched the ones I missed and was hooked for the rest of the season.  The moral: Never judge a show based on its pilot.  But I digress….

The show kicks off with a great scene of Alec Baldwin and Tina Fey discussing the highlights of the summer TV season including MILF Island (25 hot moms, 1 caring prostitute MILF and 8 boys, no rules) and America’s Top Pirate.  But that’s nothing compared to SeinfeldVision where Seinfeld is digitally inserted into all of NBC’s shows.

Unfortunately also over the summer, Liz broke up with Floyd, Tracy’s wife threw him out (who knew freaky deakys could also do data entry) and Jenna put on a bit of weight doing Mystic Pizza the Musical.  No need to worry about Tracy though, Kenneth agreed to be his “office wife”.  In other stories Cerie is still engaged and planning her wedding.  By getting Liz and Jenna to be bridesmaids she got a twofer – bridesmaids and “something old”.   Classic.

As has been promoted for the last bunch of weeks the episode primarily revolves around Jerry’s dislike of the SeinfeldVision concept, unless he could be inserted into Lost.  Now that’s a show he likes.  If Jack doesn’t stop SeinfeldVision from airing Jerry’s going to buy NBC.  Fortunately Jack’s got a couple of days to come up with alternatives and as we all know, there are no bad ideas when it comes to brainstorming (I’m an innovation guy, I know).  As with all things Jack it comes down to negotiation and I have one thing to say – Al Rokker in a Bee costume.

The rest of the show had Liz walking around in a wedding dress and I need to end this review on two important notes:  it is my fondest desire to one day go to Grenarnia and as amazing as this show is I’m with Jack – this is going to be a great year.

Avi’s Episode Rating: A-

2 Responses to 30 Rock – Season 2, Episode 1 – Seinfeld Vision

  1. Media Maven says:

    I must say I disagree, Avi. Unlike you, I’ve watched this show from episode 1 and loved it. But this was one of the weakest episodes I’ve seen. Aside from the hilarious Ken/Tracy office wife thing, the rest of the episode reeked of desperation.

    This show is going to get canceled in 4 more episodes if ratings don’t pick up (it got a little boost for the premiere, up to 4.1/7), and I understand that they thought they were being clever with all the “this is going to be our year” thing, but the stunt casting, the promos for upcoming stunt casting, everything– it all felt like too much.

    It’s one thing to be funny and comment on the real-life situation of a failing show (Arrested Development did this to perfection). It’s another to simply be desperate. You want to make us laugh and love your show, not pity you, which is all I could muster.

  2. Like you, after seeing the first couple episodes I wasn’t all that crazy about this show. Stupid. It’s turned into a great show. This particular episode was okay with me because I’ve found that whenever a show has a huge guest star for its season opener, it’s usually not very good. Expecting that, I was okay with it and got most of the fun out of Ken and Tracy, like Media Maven said.

    So many shows do this, however. They bring in a big name for the season opener and it’s a clunker. Why do they feel the need to fall back on this ploy?

Leave a Reply

