The Office – Season 4, Episode 3 – Launch Party

Sorry that I’m late with my look at this week’s Office but as I learned from the opening minutes of the show, watching the DVD box try to go into the corner (something I admit I’ve found myself mesmerized with on my own DVD player), good things can come if you wait for it.

Here’s what I learned from this week’s The Office:

  • I will never doubt Pam again. If she says she saw something, I’m going to believe her.
  • I should start printing my presentations on colour paper instead of white so they won’t be so bland.
  • The brainchild of my brainchild is my grandbrainchild. Cool.
  • From now on I’m only going to attend parties with sushi and important people.
  • If I ever need a good business cliche to be used in a presentation I will rewatch Ryan’s speech – (“apples to apples”, “flying at 30000 feet”, “don’t want to get into a beauty contest”, “convergence”, “going guerrilla”, “don’t want to reinvent the wheel”, “it is what it is”) – Awesome!!!

  • I didn’t realize there were so many possible ways to deal with difficult people. I’m going to try a different one every day starting with “So how does that make you feel?” My personal favourite is “I want to understand but it’s difficult for me when you use that tone”.
  • If you want to win you have to fuel up like a winner.
  • Some people actually prefer 2 plaques to a pay raise. In case any one is wondering, I’m not one of them.
  • In case of a tie, the tie goes to the girlfriend. I wonder if that holds true also with a wife. I’d ask her but in case it’s a rule I think it’s easier to plead ignorance.
  • I wish I knew you could break up by notarized letter. It would have been much more effective than over the phone or by e-mail.
  • Do you think the singers who backed up Andy were the Sacred Heart singers? That would have been a great crossover.

The whole Dwight vs. the web site contest was fantastic, only made better by the prank that Jim and Pam pulled. I laughed out loud every time Dwight received a taunting note from the website. I wonder if I could send people IMs from “Facebook” telling them to go find real friends. Also, great to see that the NY staff also think Ryan is kind of a dick but the move of making him Michael’s boss is paying off with some great laughs.

Unfortunately, I’m going to have to agree with Alan Sepinwall’s complaint about the hour long episodes of The Office. It seems like there just doesn’t seem to be enough story to last an hour. The show could have cut the whole pizza hostage situation, trimmed about 15 minutes and made it a solid 40 minute typical “super-sized” NBC show that likely would have been one of the best of the season. Instead it had too many meandering moments that could have made fine deleted scenes for the DVD but dragged down the brilliance of the Dwight vs. the computer plotline and Angela’s launch party planning.

I think next week is the last hour long episode before we go back to last year’s stellar NBC comedy line-up of Earl, 30 Rock, The Office and Scrubs. Still, even a meandering hour episode of The Office is better than 80% of what is on the air.

Avi’s Episode Rating: first 1/2 – A, second 1/2 – B-

2 Responses to The Office – Season 4, Episode 3 – Launch Party

  1. Drummer says:

    This article has really blown me away from my chair. Keep up the good work on writing these kinda stuff. Highly recommended reading ! 100% Approved !

    MASTODI REPORT

  2. Schoeck says:

    wow.? need about get one.thanks. sa?l?k

Leave a Reply

