The Office – Season 4, Episode 4 – Money

Let me first say this: Toby’s so cool – writing and directing this week’s episode. Well, it’s the final 1 hour episode of The Office and unfortunately I’m going to have to call the experiment a failure. As I said last week – the show just doesn’t work in hour increments. Again, 40 minutes would have been the optimal length for this episode. The whole Pam and Jim going to Dwight’s bed and breakfast had some funny moments but as with the pizza boy story last week, it could have been completely pulled out and the episode would have been much tighter.

Still, here’s what I learned from this week’s The Office:

  • Until tonight I didn’t recognize The Devil Wears Prada as a training video for managers. I thought the Apprentice was all there was.
  • At the end of my life when I’m sitting on my flutterboard, reading the comic book I wrote and listening to my duet with Bruce Springsteen I’m definitely going to think about my wife and kids….. and my flutterboard.
  • PowerPoint is either the ultimate productivity tool for presentations or the root of all evil.
  • Tripadvisor.com has the power to crush an asparagus farm.
  • Wild oats are great for making oatmeal.
  • A second job can be a hobby. I wonder if the converse is true too. Could my hobby (watching TV and writing about it) be a second job?
  • Make the Call. Say the Lines. Make the Sale. Not quite Always Be Closing a la Glengarry Glenn Ross but still inspired.
  • I think business school should cost a donkey too.
  • Whoever uses whomever correctly should give whoever figures it out $50. Is that right?
  • I’m not sure how I ever got my wife to marry me without being able to do the moonwalk. I guess I’m just lucky.
  • It’s rude and unsexual to talk about money.
  • “Get out of jail” cards costs thousands of dollars.
  • The Best of the Muppet Show on DVD is classic. Definitely worth picking up.
  • If I ask PowerPoint questions, will the paperclip be the one to answer me?
  • Debt does follow you around the world. Even if you live off the grid.

There were some great story moments this week especially Michael’s second job where he actually was popular. Stood in great contrast not only to the relationship he has with his employees but also the mentioned in this episode improv classes where he was completely shunned. Also, kind of cool to see more of Darryl and watch him put Kelly in her place. This may be the relationship she needs. Speaking of relationships just as Angela and Dwight are ending and Angela and Andy starting – we get Jim and Dwight doing some bonding and some new insight into Michael and Jan.

All of this makes me even more disappointed that what could have been a solid 1/2 hour episode turned into a mediocre 1 hour one. Grrrrrrr. Still a good show but I’m hoping the change in format back to 1/2 hour next week will restore the show to greatness.

Avi’s Episode Rating: B

11 Responses to The Office – Season 4, Episode 4 – Money

  1. Baby Milo says:

    The office is my favorite show. I have all the seasons on TV – I saw this episode too. I give you a B rating.

  2. Elanor Agen says:

    I totally agree with you. The Office should not be an hour long, if they could make it 40 minutes it would be great. I must admit. I think Creed Bratton is the coolest person ever.

  3. Demonweed says:

    I’m not sure about the second use of “whoever” because that is at once an object (give to X) and a subject (X figures it out.) That sort of complex usage is a puzzler. On the other hand, I get the sense “whomever” is headed for the linguistic dustbin. If “ain’t” gets a non-slang place in proper dictionaries, arcane forms that almost nobody uses correctly are likely to lose theirs. All that said, the item is still flawed because it is appropriate to enclose words in quotation marks when referring to a word itself rather than the normal referent the word invokes.

    As an additional note, I have mixed feelings about the hour long format, but I found this episode especially entertaining. I see the merit in your concerns, but I believe the show could adapt and stay strong if it were permanently extended to a one hour format. Since there are so few genuinely entertaining comedies left on broadcast and basic cable (with half of those being animated,) I would still consider more of The Office a gift, even if I also had to cut it a little slack from time to time.

  4. chris says:

    completely unfunny. they should just stick to what works, which is the half hour episodes

  5. crispy says:

    umm an hour long episode is 40 min playtime compared to 20 min.

  6. scrantonicity says:

    Dwight, moaning in his room while holding his stolen figurine, was hilarious.

  7. Michael says:

    Correcto-mundo! An hour is just too long. I like being able to work as little as possible and go home to my condo with Jan.

  8. Everest says:

    Thanks this made for interesting reading. I want your wordpress theme!

  9. Ha… this is really good stuff 🙂 By: Watch episodes online

  10. I think other web site proprietors should take this website as an model, very clean and excellent user friendly style and design, let alone the content. You’re an expert in this topic!

  11. las vegas pizza…

    […]The Office – Season 4, Episode 4 – Money « Avi’s TV Ramblings[…]…

Leave a comment